Dividend

GPIL Dividend 2026 — Re.1 Final Dividend, 0.40% Yield, Record Date 14 Aug

GPIL Dividend 2026 — Re.1 Final Dividend, 0.40% Yield, Record Date 14 Aug

Dividend Snapshot

CompanyGodawari Power & Ispat Ltd
Dividend TypeFinal Dividend
Dividend Per Share₹1.00 (100% of face value)
Face Value₹1.00
Financial YearFY2025-26
Real Dividend Yield (at CMP)~0.40%
Current Market Price₹253 (09-Sep-2026)
Record Date14-Aug-2026
AGM (approval)19-Sep-2026
Est. Dividend Outflow~₹65 Cr

The one-line takeaway: GPIL's dividend is comfortably affordable — earnings cover it 13x, operating cash flow covers it ~18x, and the company sits on roughly ₹752 Cr net cash. But the yield is tiny because GPIL retains the vast majority of profits to fund a heavy capital-expenditure cycle (steel expansion, iron-ore pellets and a new battery-storage venture). Investors here are paid mainly through business growth and past capital appreciation, not dividend income.

Dividend Announcement Summary

At its Board Meeting held on 19 May 2026, the Board of Directors of Godawari Power and Ispat Limited recommended a final dividend of Re.1 per equity share (i.e. 100%) on shares of face value Re.1 each for the financial year ended 31 March 2026. The same Board meeting approved the audited standalone and consolidated results for Q4 and FY2025-26, with the statutory auditors (M/s Singhi & Co.) issuing unmodified opinions.

The dividend is "recommended" and remains subject to shareholder approval at the ensuing Annual General Meeting. Per the company's filing, once approved and declared at the AGM, payment (net of TDS) will be made within 30 days from the date of declaration.

The same meeting also cleared large capital-deployment decisions that matter for future payout capacity: an additional investment of up to ₹200 Crore in wholly-owned subsidiary Godawari New Energy Private Limited (GNEPL) for a Battery Energy Storage System (BESS) plant — taking the total commitment there toward ₹700 Crore — and a loan of up to ₹150 Crore to Godawari Education and Research Foundation.

Key Dates Timeline

EventDateStatus / Basis
Board Announcement19-May-2026Confirmed (filing)
Record Date14-Aug-2026 (Fri)Confirmed (Regulation 42 filing)
Ex-Dividend Date14-Aug-2026Inferred (T+1 convention; verify vs NSE/BSE circular)
AGM (approval)19-Sep-2026Scheduled; dividend subject to approval
PaymentWithin 30 days of AGMSpecific date not disclosed by company

Note: The record date, ex-date and AGM date have already passed / are imminent relative to publication. The final dividend still requires ratification at the 19-Sep-2026 AGM before payment is released.

Dividend Yield Analysis

The face-value illusion

The company declared "100%" dividend. That 100% is measured against the Re.1 face value, not the market price. On a share you actually buy at around ₹253, Re.1 works out to a real cash yield of only ~0.40%. The headline percentage is a legal formality; the real yield is what lands in your bank account.

Yield across the price range

On face value (₹1)100%
At CMP ₹2530.40%
At 52-week low ₹1970.51%
At 52-week high ₹3200.31%

Why the yield is low — the real reason

A ~0.40% yield here is not a sign of a falling share price or weak business. It is a deliberate low-payout policy. GPIL pays out only about 8% of profit as dividend and reinvests the rest into capacity (steel, pellets, mining) and new bets (solar, battery storage). This is a growth-and-retention stock, not an income stock.

Dividend History Analysis

GPIL's per-share history must be read carefully because of two corporate actions: a face-value split from ₹10 to ₹5 with a 1:1 bonus (Oct 2021), and a later split from ₹5 to ₹1. Historic dividends are therefore restated to the current Re.1 face value below so the trend is comparable (Ind AS 33 basis).

Financial YearDPS (as declared)Face Value thenDPS on ₹1 basis
FY2025-26₹1.00₹1₹1.00
FY2024-25₹1.00₹1₹1.00
FY2023-24₹1.25₹1₹1.25
FY2022-23₹0.80₹5*₹0.16*
FY2021-22₹1.70₹5*₹0.34*
FY2020-21₹0.25 + ₹0.93₹10*Not fully verified

*The exact effective date of the ₹5-to-₹1 split is being desk-verified; the restated figures for FY2022-23 and earlier are approximate and marked accordingly. Source for as-declared amounts: exchange dividend records.

Classification: Consistent Payer (recent), historically Cyclical

GPIL suspended dividends entirely in the FY2016–FY2020 period when it was carrying heavy debt. Since deleveraging around FY2021, it has paid an annual dividend every year (FY2021 through FY2026). On a Re.1 basis the recent cash dividend has been broadly stable at ₹1.00–₹1.25 per share. The company has also returned capital through share buybacks (a ₹250 Crore buyback with record date March 2023), which is a separate distribution channel not captured in the dividend line.

Financial Performance Analysis

Consolidated FY2025-26 vs FY2024-25

Metric (₹ Cr)FY26FY25Change
Revenue from operations5,380.655,375.73+0.1%
Operating profit (EBITDA)~1,263~1,194+5.8%
Depreciation178.34155.19+14.9%
Net Profit (owners)800.75811.67−1.3%
EPS (basic, ₹)13.0513.24−1.4%

Operating leverage: margin up, profit slightly down

Here is the non-obvious part. Revenue was essentially flat (+0.1%), yet EBITDA rose ~5.8% as operating margin expanded from ~22% to ~23% (cost of materials consumed fell). Despite that operating strength, net profit slipped ~1.3%. The drag came from below-the-line items: depreciation jumped ~15% (as new capex was capitalised), and a consolidated exceptional loss of ₹18.29 Cr replaced a small prior-year gain. So the business earned more at the operating level but reported slightly less at the bottom line — a distortion driven by accounting depreciation and one-off items, not by demand.

Standalone caution: Standalone PAT of ₹919 Cr is flattered by ₹94.03 Cr of dividend income from joint ventures/associates and a ₹36.69 Cr exceptional gain on the Ardent Steel stake sale. Stripping these one-offs, indicative standalone operating profit is closer to ~₹789 Cr. For a holding-and-manufacturing group like GPIL, the consolidated numbers are the more reliable basis for judging dividend affordability.

Cash Flow Analysis

Cash quality is strong

Operating cash flow (CFO)₹1,157 Cr
Net profit (consol)₹802 Cr
CFO / PAT ratio1.44x
Debtor days~9 days

Free cash flow is thin this year

CFO₹1,157 Cr
Capex (PP&E + CWIP)₹1,042 Cr
Free cash flow~₹115 Cr
FCF vs dividend (~₹65 Cr)1.8x cover

How the dividend is funded: The dividend is funded comfortably out of current operating cash flow, not borrowings or asset sales. CFO of ₹1,157 Cr converts profit to cash at 1.44x — a healthy sign. However, free cash flow shrank to ~₹115 Cr because the company spent ~₹1,042 Cr on capex during the year. FCF still covers the ~₹65 Cr dividend about 1.8x, but the FCF cushion is much thinner than the earnings or cash cushion — a direct consequence of the current heavy investment phase.

Balance Sheet Strength

Cash + bank + current investments₹1,179 Cr
Total borrowings₹427 Cr
Net cash position~₹752 Cr
Book value / share~₹86.5
ROE (FY26)15.3%
ROCE (FY26)20.5%
Total equity (consol)₹5,849 Cr
Share warrants (pending)₹116.6 Cr

GPIL is effectively net-cash / almost debt-free. Total borrowings of ~₹427 Cr are dwarfed by ~₹1,179 Cr of liquid resources, leaving a net cash pile of roughly ₹752 Cr. Borrowings did rise modestly during the year (funding capex and the BESS venture), but this poses no threat to the dividend given the cash cushion. The balance sheet can absorb the ₹65 Cr payout many times over.

Dividend Sustainability Analysis

Four-test coverage scorecard (dividend outflow ~₹65 Cr)

TestCoverageVerdict
Earnings coverage (EPS ÷ DPS)13.1xVery strong
Operating cash flow coverage~17.8xVery strong
Free cash flow coverage~1.8xAdequate (capex year)
Liquidity / cash coverage~18.2xVery strong

Composite verdict: Sustainable. The payout is trivially small relative to earnings, operating cash and the cash pile. The only test that is merely "adequate" rather than "very strong" is free cash flow, which is compressed this year by ~₹1,042 Cr of capital spending — and even that still covers the dividend nearly 1.8x. The low ~8% payout ratio gives enormous headroom to maintain or grow the dividend even if profits dip in a cyclical steel downturn.

Peer Comparison

GPIL's ~0.40% yield is typical of the mid-cap ferrous pack — these are capital-appreciation stocks with low payout ratios, not income stocks. Cells left blank are not independently verified and should not be treated as confirmed.

CompanyDPS (latest)Div YieldP/EROE
Godawari Power & Ispat₹1.00~0.40%20.815.3%
Sarda Energy & Minerals₹2.00~0.39%~16.1—
Shyam Metalics & Energy₹2.25~0.49%——
Kirloskar Ferrous₹3.00~1.6%~17.6—

Peer figures are indicative, drawn from public market data on differing dates; verify before publication. GPIL row is derived from the audited filing and current market price.

Promoter Impact Analysis

Shareholding (Jun 2026)

Promoters63.18%
FIIs6.00%
DIIs3.10%
Public27.72%

Who gets the cash

Total est. outflow~₹65 Cr
To promoter group (63.18%)~₹41 Cr
To public + institutions~₹24 Cr

Because the promoter group (the Agrawal family / Hira Group) owns ~63%, roughly ₹41 Cr of the ~₹65 Cr dividend flows to promoters. That is not unusual for a founder-led company, and the low overall payout means minority shareholders and promoters are treated identically per share — there is no preferential distribution. Note that promoter holding has drifted down modestly over the last three years (from ~67% to ~63%), partly reflecting stock splits, ESOP allotments and inter-se transmissions.

Taxation Analysis

How dividends are taxed in India

Since April 2020, dividends are taxed in the hands of the investor. The dividend is added to your total income and taxed at your applicable income-tax slab rate. The company deducts TDS at 10% under Section 194 if your total dividend from GPIL in a financial year exceeds ₹5,000 (10% TDS threshold; a PAN must be on record, else 20%). You can claim credit for TDS when filing your return.

Worked example — a 30% slab investor

HoldingGross dividendTDS @10%Tax @30% slabNet in hand
1,000 shares₹1,000Nil (< ₹5,000)₹300₹700
10,000 shares₹10,000₹1,000₹3,000₹7,000

Standard textbook example (Re.10 per share on 1,000 shares at 30% slab): gross ₹10,000, TDS ₹1,000, tax ₹3,000, net ₹7,000 — an effective post-tax yield of 70% of the gross dividend. For GPIL's actual Re.1 dividend, a 30%-slab investor keeps ₹0.70 per share after tax. TDS bites only once annual GPIL dividend crosses ₹5,000 (i.e. above ~5,000 shares).

Tax rules are general and not personalised advice; consult a tax professional for your situation.

Key Risks

  1. Commodity cyclicality: GPIL's profits swing with steel, iron-ore and pellet prices. Five-year sales growth has been weak (~6%), and a downcycle can compress the earnings that fund the dividend.
  2. Heavy capex phase compresses free cash: ~₹1,042 Cr of capex cut FY26 free cash flow to ~₹115 Cr. If capex stays elevated (steel expansion + ₹700 Cr BESS commitment), FCF cover for the dividend stays thin.
  3. Execution / diversification risk: The battery-energy-storage (BESS) and solar bets are new business lines outside GPIL's core steel competence, with uncertain returns.
  4. Operational disruptions: The 2.0 MTPA iron-ore pellet plant was suspended in mid-July 2026 and resumed only in late August 2026 — a reminder that plant availability directly affects volumes and cash.
  5. Low-yield, retention-led policy: The ~0.40% yield offers negligible income cushion. Total return depends almost entirely on capital appreciation, which is not guaranteed.
  6. Related-party fund deployment: Large flows to group entities (GNEPL for BESS, GERF education foundation loan) require shareholder approval and warrant monitoring for capital-allocation discipline.

What To Monitor

  1. Free cash flow trajectory: Watch whether FCF recovers as the current capex cycle matures — the key swing factor for future dividend growth.
  2. Steel and pellet realisations / spreads: Track quarterly EBITDA per tonne and OPM; margin is the real driver of payout capacity.
  3. Capex-to-cash-generation balance: Monitor the pace of the ₹700 Cr BESS commitment and steel expansion against operating cash generation.
  4. Payout ratio direction: A move above the historic ~8–17% band would signal a more shareholder-return-focused policy; a cut would signal caution.
  5. Net cash / borrowings: Watch whether the net-cash buffer erodes as capex is funded, and whether new debt is raised.
  6. Return ratios (ROE/ROCE): ROE has eased to ~15%; sustained decline would question the reinvestment-over-dividend strategy.
  7. AGM outcome (19-Sep-2026): Confirm the dividend is formally declared and note any change vs the recommended Re.1.

Conclusion

Positives

A rock-solid, easily affordable dividend: 13x earnings cover, ~18x operating-cash and cash cover, ~₹752 Cr net cash, ROCE of ~20%, and a consistent annual payout track record since FY2021. Cash conversion (CFO/PAT 1.44x) is high-quality.

Negatives

A near-negligible ~0.40% real yield, flat revenue, a slight dip in reported net profit, and free cash flow squeezed to ~₹115 Cr by a heavy capex cycle. The "100%" headline overstates what shareholders actually receive.

The balance

GPIL is a growth-and-retention business that pays a token, well-covered dividend while reinvesting almost everything into steel capacity, mining, pellets and new energy ventures. The dividend is safe; it is simply small by design. This report presents the positives, negatives, risks and monitoring points so you can decide what fits your objectives — it does not offer any buy, sell or hold recommendation.

Frequently Asked Questions

What dividend has Godawari Power & Ispat announced for FY2025-26?
GPIL's Board recommended a final dividend of Re.1 per equity share (100% of the Re.1 face value) for the financial year ended 31 March 2026, subject to shareholder approval at the AGM.
What is the real dividend yield of GPIL?
At the current market price of about ₹253, a Re.1 dividend is a real cash yield of roughly 0.40%. The "100%" figure is only relative to the Re.1 face value and is not what you earn on your investment.
What is the record date for the GPIL dividend?
The company fixed Friday, 14 August 2026 as the record date to determine shareholders eligible for the final dividend.
What is the ex-dividend date?
Under the current T+1 settlement convention the ex-date typically coincides with the record date, i.e. around 14 August 2026. This is inferred and should be confirmed against the official NSE/BSE corporate-action circular.
When will the GPIL dividend be paid?
The company has stated payment will be made within 30 days from the date of declaration at the AGM (scheduled 19 September 2026). A specific payment date was not separately disclosed in the announcement.
Who is eligible for the dividend?
Shareholders whose names appear in the company's records (or the depositories' beneficial-owner list) as on the record date of 14 August 2026 are eligible, provided the dividend is approved at the AGM.
How is the GPIL dividend taxed?
Dividends are taxable in the investor's hands at their income-tax slab rate. TDS of 10% applies if your total GPIL dividend in a financial year exceeds ₹5,000 (20% without a valid PAN). A 30%-slab investor keeps about ₹0.70 per share after tax.
Is the GPIL dividend sustainable?
On the numbers, yes. Earnings cover the dividend ~13x, operating cash flow ~18x, and the company holds ~₹752 Cr net cash. Free cash flow cover is thinner (~1.8x) this year due to heavy capex, but the ~8% payout ratio leaves ample headroom.
What is GPIL's dividend history?
GPIL paid no dividend during the debt-heavy FY2016–FY2020 years, then resumed annual dividends from FY2021. On the current Re.1 face value, recent cash dividends have been around ₹1.00–₹1.25 per share. It has also returned capital via buybacks (e.g. a ₹250 Cr buyback in FY2023).
How much of the dividend goes to promoters?
With promoter holding around 63.18%, roughly ₹41 Cr of the estimated ~₹65 Cr total dividend flows to the promoter group, with the remaining ~₹24 Cr to public and institutional shareholders. Every shareholder receives the same Re.1 per share.
Why is GPIL's dividend yield so low if profits are high?
Because GPIL deliberately pays out only ~8% of profit and reinvests the rest into steel capacity, mining, pellets and new energy projects. The low yield reflects a growth-and-retention policy, not a weak business or a falling share price.
Should investors read the standalone or consolidated numbers?
Consolidated is the better guide to dividend affordability. Standalone PAT of ₹919 Cr is flattered by ₹94 Cr of dividend income from JV/associates and a ₹37 Cr exceptional gain; the consolidated view (PAT ~₹802 Cr) is cleaner for judging the group's true earnings.
What should investors monitor going forward?
Watch free cash flow recovery as capex peaks, steel/pellet margins, the pace of the ₹700 Cr BESS investment, the net-cash buffer, return ratios (ROE/ROCE), and confirmation of the dividend at the 19 September 2026 AGM.

Disclaimer

This article is for informational and educational purposes only and does not constitute investment, financial, legal or tax advice, nor any buy, sell or hold recommendation. ShareBazaar Online is not a SEBI-registered investment adviser or research analyst. Figures are drawn from the company's exchange filing dated 19 May 2026 and publicly available data; some data points (including current market price, exact ex-date, peer figures and pre-FY2024 restated dividends) are time-sensitive or independently unverified and are labelled accordingly — they must be re-verified before acting. Market prices and yields change continuously. Securities markets are subject to risk; please consult a SEBI-registered adviser and read all offer documents before investing. The author and publisher accept no liability for decisions taken based on this content.

Share this update
Back to Corporate Actions

Explore More Investment Opportunities

Discover IPOs, unlisted shares, and broker comparison tools curated for smart investors.