Dividend

Balkrishna Industries ₹4 Final Dividend FY26 — Record Date 17 Jul, Yield & Sustainability

Balkrishna Industries ₹4 Final Dividend FY26 — Record Date 17 Jul, Yield & Sustainability

Dividend Snapshot

Balkrishna Industries Limited (BKT), one of the world's leading makers of Off-Highway Tyres, has declared a Final Dividend of ₹4 per equity share (200% of the ₹2 face value) for the financial year ended 31 March 2026. The dividend was recommended by the Board on 8 May 2026 and approved by shareholders at the 64th AGM on 29 July 2026. With three interim payouts of ₹4 already made during the year, BKT's total FY26 dividend rises to ₹16 per share.

Company & Security

  • CompanyBalkrishna Industries Ltd
  • NSE SymbolBALKRISIND
  • BSE Code502355
  • ISININE787D01026
  • SectorOff-Highway Tyres
  • Face Value₹2

Dividend At A Glance

  • Dividend TypeFinal Dividend
  • Final Dividend / Share₹4 (200%)
  • Total FY26 Dividend₹16 / share
  • Yield (final, latest CMP)≈0.16%
  • Yield (full-year FY26)≈0.65%
  • Record Date17 Jul 2026

Latest CMP reference: ₹2,473.50 (NSE, 31 Jul 2026) — re-verify at publish time; yield figures move with price. Source: exchange/aggregator data, Not Independently Verified against a live terminal.

Dividend Announcement Summary

At its Board Meeting held on Friday, 8 May 2026, the Board of Directors of Balkrishna Industries approved the audited standalone and consolidated results for the quarter and year ended 31 March 2026 and recommended a final dividend of ₹4 per share (200% on ₹2 face value), subject to member approval. The auditors (Jayantilal Thakkar & Co.) issued an unmodified (clean) opinion. Shareholders ratified the dividend at the 64th AGM on 29 July 2026, alongside the appointment of Deloitte Haskins & Sells LLP as joint statutory auditor from the 64th to the 69th AGM.

What Was Approved

  • Final dividend of ₹4/share for FY26.
  • Audited FY26 standalone & consolidated results.
  • Re-appointment of Mr. Vipul Shah as Whole-Time Director & Company Secretary (Feb 2027–Feb 2032).
  • Additional capex of ₹2,000 crore for capacity, carbon-black and AI-enabled automation.

Why It Matters

The final dividend is small (₹4), but it caps a year in which BKT continued a consistent quarterly-plus-final payout rhythm even as reported profit fell. The bigger story sits alongside the payout: a ₹3,000 crore capex year that reshaped the company's near-term free-cash profile (see Cash Flow Analysis).

Key Dates Timeline

Event Date Note
Board Announcement8 May 2026Final dividend recommended
Record Date17 Jul 2026 (Fri)Confirmed via Reg. 42 intimation
Ex-Date17 Jul 2026Same as record date under T+1 settlement — confirm against exchange corporate-action circular
AGM (Approval)29 Jul 2026 (Wed)Dividend approved by members
Payment DateOn/after 29 Jul 2026Within statutory 30 days of AGM (≈ by 28 Aug 2026)

Under India's T+1 settlement, the ex-date and record date typically fall on the same trading day. Payment date is bounded by Section 124/127 of the Companies Act, 2013 (within 30 days of declaration). Exact credit date: Not Disclosed by Company.

Dividend Yield Analysis

Yield Maths

  • Final ₹4 ÷ CMP ₹2,473.500.16%
  • Full-year ₹16 ÷ CMP ₹2,473.500.65%
  • Final ₹4 ÷ announce price ₹2,258.400.18%
  • Full-year ₹16 ÷ announce price0.71%

The Reality Check

BKT is not a yield stock. Even counting the full ₹16 annual payout, the yield is well under 1%. That is by design: BKT trades at a growth-style multiple (P/E ≈ 33–35), so the price base is large relative to the dividend. The yield is low because the share price is high, not because the payout was cut — the ₹4 final has been steady for years.

CMP ₹2,473.50 (NSE, 31 Jul 2026) and announce-window price ₹2,258.40 (NSE close, 7 May 2026) sourced from exchange/aggregator data — re-verify live at publish. Yields computed by ShareBazaar Online.

Dividend History Analysis

Financial Year Total Dividend / Share Structure
FY2025-26₹163 interim ₹4 + final ₹4
FY2024-25₹164 payouts of ₹4
FY2023-24₹16Multiple interim + final
FY2022-23≈₹15Interim + final (approx)
FY2020-21₹17₹12 interim + ₹5 final

Recent years verified from company filings and dividend-history aggregators (TipRanks/Trendlyne/INDmoney). Some earlier-year totals marked "approx" / Not Independently Verified.

Classification: Consistent Payer

BKT is a Consistent Dividend Payer. It has paid a steady stream of quarterly-style interim dividends plus a final for many years, with no cuts or suspensions in the recent record and a broadly stable ₹15–₹17 annual band. Importantly, the FY26 payout was held flat even as profit fell ~25% — a signal of management's commitment to distribution stability rather than mechanically linking dividends to a soft profit year.

Financial Performance Analysis

Consolidated (₹ Cr) FY26 FY25 Change
Revenue from Operations10,823.0810,446.95+3.6%
EBITDA2,300.432,457.60−6.4%
EBITDA Margin21.3%23.5%−220 bps
Other Income251.83538.79−53.3%
Profit Before Tax1,643.682,187.39−24.9%
Net Profit (PAT)1,243.101,654.96−24.9%
EPS (₹)64.3085.61−24.9%

Operating Leverage: Revenue Up, Profit Down — Here's Exactly Why

Revenue rose 3.6% yet PAT fell 24.9%. This is not a demand collapse — it is a margin + non-operating income story. Our reconstruction of the ₹543.7 Cr PBT decline:

  • Other income −₹287 Cr — the single largest driver. Treasury/forex swung, including a ₹45 Cr Q4 mark-to-market investment loss and unrealised FX losses.
  • Operating EBITDA −₹157 Cr — margin squeezed from 23.5% to 21.3% on higher input/other costs.
  • Depreciation +₹94 Cr (−₹94 Cr to PBT) — the capex cycle is now flowing through the P&L.
  • Finance cost −₹5 Cr impact — broadly stable.

Net takeaway: more than half the profit fall came from lower other income (treasury/FX), not from the tyre business weakening. The core operation still grew volumes and revenue.

Cash Flow Analysis

Reported profit is an opinion; cash is a fact. On the cash side, BKT's story is actually stronger than its P&L — but with one important caveat this year.

Cash Flow (Consolidated, ₹ Cr)

  • Operating Cash Flow FY262,249.32
  • Operating Cash Flow FY251,764.14
  • OCF growth+27.5%
  • Capex (PPE purchase)3,003.29
  • Free Cash Flow FY26−753.97
  • Free Cash Flow FY25+281.14

The Non-Obvious Finding

Despite PAT falling 25%, operating cash flow rose 27.5% — cash conversion (OCF ₹2,249 Cr vs PAT ₹1,243 Cr) is strong, confirming earnings quality. But FY26 free cash flow turned negative at −₹754 Cr because capex nearly doubled to ₹3,003 Cr. So the ₹309 Cr of dividends paid this year were funded from operating cash and reserves — not from free cash flow. This is affordability, not earned free cash, and it is the fact aggregator coverage tends to skip.

How the dividend was funded: from strong current earnings and cash reserves — and, this year, not from free cash flow, because heavy growth capex consumed all operating cash. Borrowings did rise during the year, largely to fund the expansion, not the payout.

Balance Sheet Strength

Key Balance Sheet Items (₹ Cr)

  • Total Equity / Net Worth10,955.29
  • Cash + Bank64.51
  • Current + Non-current Investments3,123.96
  • Total Investible Liquidity≈3,188
  • Total Borrowings4,105.56
  • Net Debt (incl. investments)≈917

Strength Ratios

  • Debt-to-Equity0.37x
  • ROE (FY26)11.35%
  • ROCE (FY26, computed)≈11.8%
  • Interest Service Coverage≈70x
  • Current Ratio1.01x

The balance sheet remains comfortably solid: low leverage (D/E 0.37x), interest cover near 70x, and roughly ₹3,188 Cr of cash and investments against ₹4,106 Cr of borrowings — a modest net-debt position that becomes near net-cash once investments are counted. Watch flag: borrowings rose materially in FY26 (current borrowings alone climbed to ₹3,218 Cr from ₹2,875 Cr) to bankroll the capex programme, and ROE/ROCE have drifted into the low-11% range — below the company's historical double-digit-teens returns.

Dividend Sustainability Analysis

Sustainability Test Metric Verdict
Earnings coverage (EPS vs total DPS)₹64.30 vs ₹16 → 4.0xStrong
Payout ratio (total FY26)24.9% of PATConservative
Operating cash coverageOCF ₹2,249 Cr vs ₹309 Cr → 7.3xStrong
Free cash flow coverageFCF −₹754 CrNot covered (capex year)
Cash / balance-sheet coverage≈₹3,188 Cr liquidity → 10.3xStrong

Overall Verdict: Sustainable (with a capex watch-flag)

The ₹16 annual dividend passes three of four tests comfortably — it is covered 4x by earnings, 7x by operating cash and 10x by liquidity. The one caution is the negative FCF in FY26: while the payout is easily affordable today, a multi-year heavy-capex phase (a further ₹2,000 Cr approved) means the dividend is being met from cash generation and reserves rather than surplus free cash. As long as capex normalises and margins hold, the dividend looks Sustainable.

Peer Comparison

Company Latest Annual Div/Share Div Yield Payout ROE
Balkrishna Industries₹16≈0.65%24.9%11.4%
MRF₹235≈0.2%≈5.3% 
Apollo Tyres₹5≈0.97%≈28%5.8%
CEAT₹35≈0.81% 10.2%
JK Tyre₹3 ≈15.9% 

Peer figures from public aggregators/company disclosures; blank cells = Not Independently Verified from primary source. Face values differ (BKT/Apollo/CEAT/JK ₹2–₹10; MRF ₹10), so per-share dividends are not directly comparable — use yield and payout.

Across the tyre pack, dividend yields cluster below 1% — this is a capex-heavy, growth-reinvesting industry, not an income sector. BKT sits mid-pack on yield and payout, with a higher ROE than Apollo and roughly in line with CEAT. MRF's headline ₹235 dividend looks large but reflects its ₹10 face value and very high share price — its yield (≈0.2%) is the lowest and payout the thinnest.

Promoter Impact Analysis

Distribution Split

  • Promoter holding58.29%
  • Total FY26 dividend outflow₹309.28 Cr
  • Promoter share (full year ₹16)≈₹180.3 Cr
  • Promoter share (final ₹4 only)≈₹45.1 Cr
  • Minority/public share (full year)≈₹129.0 Cr

Interpretation

With a 58.29% promoter stake, roughly ₹180 Cr of the ₹309 Cr full-year payout flows to the Poddar promoter group. This is pro-rata and non-discriminatory — every shareholder receives the same ₹16/share. Because the payout ratio is conservative (24.9%), the dividend is not a mechanism to strip cash; the bulk of profit is retained and reinvested into the capacity build-out that both promoters and minority holders benefit from.

Promoter holding ≈58.29% is consistent across sources; FII (~11%) and DII (~20%) splits vary by source/date and are Not Independently Verified against the exchange shareholding filing.

Taxation Analysis

Since the abolition of the Dividend Distribution Tax (FY21), dividends are taxable in the hands of the shareholder at their applicable income-tax slab rate. Under Section 194, the company deducts TDS at 10% if the total dividend paid to a resident shareholder in a financial year exceeds ₹5,000 (10% only where PAN is available; 20% otherwise). Investors below the taxable threshold can file Form 15G/15H to avoid TDS.

Worked Example — Retail Investor

Assume 1,000 BKT shares; 30% tax slab.

Item Final ₹4 only Full-year ₹16
Gross dividend₹4,000₹16,000
TDS @10% (if >₹5,000/yr)₹0 (below threshold)₹1,600
Tax @30% slab₹1,200₹4,800
Net in hand (after slab tax)₹2,800₹11,200

On the full ₹16,000 gross, a 30%-slab investor keeps ₹11,200 — an effective post-tax yield of only ≈0.45% on the current share price. TDS is an advance credit, adjustable against final tax liability at filing.

Key Risks

  • Margin compression: EBITDA margin already slipped 220 bps to 21.3% on rising raw-material (natural rubber, carbon black, crude-linked) and energy costs; management flags further near-term input pressure.
  • Heavy capex & negative FCF: ₹3,003 Cr spent in FY26 plus a further ₹2,000 Cr approved. Until this normalises, free cash flow stays pressured and borrowings can keep rising.
  • Export/FX and tariff exposure: BKT sells in 160+ countries; ~80%+ of revenue is exports. Currency swings drove the FY26 other-income fall, and US reciprocal tariff developments add demand uncertainty.
  • Earnings volatility: PAT fell ~25% in FY26 and a big chunk came from non-operating (treasury/FX) items — making reported profit lumpy quarter to quarter.
  • Valuation risk: at a P/E of ~33–35 the stock is priced for consistent execution; any earnings miss risks a disproportionate de-rating and can further depress an already sub-1% yield.

What To Monitor

  • Capex pace & FCF turn: when does the ₹3,000 Cr+ spend peak, and does free cash flow return to positive? This is the single biggest driver of future dividend headroom.
  • EBITDA margin recovery: track whether margins claw back toward the historical 25–30% band as pricing offsets input costs.
  • Volume growth & new segments: off-highway volume trajectory plus the on-highway/PCR and advanced carbon-black entries flagged in the FY27 outlook.
  • Borrowings & net debt: watch whether the capex-driven debt build reverses once expansion completes.
  • Payout policy in a soft year: whether BKT holds ₹16/share again if FY27 profit stays subdued — a test of dividend-stability intent.

Conclusion

Balkrishna Industries' ₹4 final dividend (₹16 for the full year) is a consistency signal, not an income opportunity. The yield is sub-1% because the stock is a growth-priced compounder, and the payout was held steady through a year when profit fell ~25%.

The positives: 4x earnings cover, 27.5% growth in operating cash flow, strong cash conversion, low leverage and a decade-plus record of uninterrupted payouts. The negatives/watch-items: a 24.9% PAT decline (largely treasury/FX-driven), a 220-bps margin squeeze, and — most notably — negative free cash flow of ‑₹754 Cr as capex nearly doubled, meaning this year's dividend was funded from operating cash and reserves rather than surplus free cash.

For dividend-focused readers, BKT is best understood as a Consistent Payer with a Sustainable-but-capex-watched dividend. The distribution is safe on today's numbers; its future growth depends on capex normalising and margins recovering.

Frequently Asked Questions

What dividend has Balkrishna Industries announced?
A final dividend of ₹4 per equity share (200% of the ₹2 face value) for FY2025-26, recommended by the Board on 8 May 2026 and approved by shareholders at the AGM on 29 July 2026. Including three interim payouts of ₹4, the total FY26 dividend is ₹16 per share.
What is the dividend yield?
The final ₹4 alone yields about 0.16% on the latest share price of ₹2,473.50 (NSE, 31 Jul 2026). Counting the full ₹16 annual payout, the yield is about 0.65%. BKT is a low-yield, growth-style stock — please re-check the live price, as yield moves with it.
What is the record date for the dividend?
Friday, 17 July 2026, fixed under SEBI LODR Regulation 42. Shareholders on the register as on this date are entitled to the final dividend.
What is the ex-date?
Under India's T+1 settlement, the ex-date typically coincides with the record date — i.e. 17 July 2026. Buy before the ex-date to be eligible. Please confirm the exact ex-date against the exchange corporate-action circular.
When will the dividend be paid?
On or after 29 July 2026 (the AGM date), within the statutory 30-day window under the Companies Act, 2013 — i.e. by roughly the end of August 2026. The exact credit date was not separately disclosed by the company.
Who is eligible for the dividend?
Any shareholder holding BKT shares as on the record date of 17 July 2026. In dematerialised mode, eligibility is based on beneficial ownership recorded with the depositories on that date.
How is the dividend taxed?
Dividends are taxed in your hands at your income-tax slab rate. The company deducts 10% TDS (Section 194) if your total dividend from BKT exceeds ₹5,000 in the financial year (20% without PAN). Eligible small investors can file Form 15G/15H to avoid TDS.
Is the dividend sustainable?
Yes, on current numbers. The ₹16 annual dividend is covered ~4x by earnings, ~7x by operating cash flow and ~10x by liquidity. The one caveat: FY26 free cash flow was negative (‑₹754 Cr) because capex nearly doubled, so the payout was funded from operating cash and reserves rather than surplus free cash.
Why did profit fall while revenue rose?
Revenue grew 3.6% but PAT fell 24.9%. More than half of that fall came from a 53% drop in other income (treasury/forex, including a Q4 mark-to-market loss), plus a 220-bps EBITDA margin squeeze and higher depreciation from the capex cycle — not from the core tyre business weakening.
What is BKT's dividend history?
BKT is a Consistent Payer. It has paid steady interim-plus-final dividends for many years — ₹16 in FY24, FY25 and FY26, and around ₹15–₹17 in earlier years — with no cuts or suspensions in the recent record.
How does BKT compare with MRF, Apollo and CEAT on dividends?
All tyre majors yield below 1%. BKT (~0.65% yield, ~25% payout, ~11.4% ROE) sits mid-pack — higher ROE than Apollo (~5.8%), similar to CEAT (~10.2%). MRF's headline ₹235 dividend looks large but its yield (~0.2%) and payout (~5%) are the lowest in the group.
What should investors monitor going forward?
Watch the capex peak and the return of positive free cash flow, EBITDA-margin recovery toward the historical 25–30% band, volume growth and new-segment entries, the borrowings/net-debt trajectory, and whether BKT keeps the ₹16 payout if FY27 profit stays soft.

Disclaimer

This article is published by ShareBazaar Online for informational and educational purposes only and does not constitute investment, financial, legal or tax advice, nor any buy/sell/hold recommendation. ShareBazaar Online is not a SEBI-registered investment adviser. Financial data is drawn from Balkrishna Industries' audited FY26 results (Board Meeting outcome dated 8 May 2026) and its exchange filings; market prices, yields, shareholding and peer figures are sourced from public exchanges and aggregators and may be delayed, approximate or subject to revision — several are marked "Not Independently Verified." Live CMP, the exact ex-date and payment date must be confirmed against NSE/BSE corporate-action circulars before acting. Dividends are subject to shareholder approval, statutory deductions and applicable tax laws, which vary by individual. Securities investments are subject to market risks; please read all related documents carefully and consult a qualified professional before investing. ShareBazaar Online and its authors accept no liability for any loss arising from the use of this information.

Share this update
Back to Corporate Actions

Explore More Investment Opportunities

Discover IPOs, unlisted shares, and broker comparison tools curated for smart investors.