Dividend

Igarashi Motors India Dividend 2026 — ₹1.30 Record Date 31 July, Yield 0.29%

Igarashi Motors India Dividend 2026 — ₹1.30 Record Date 31 July, Yield 0.29%

Dividend Snapshot

CompanyIgarashi Motors India Ltd
NSE / BSEIGARASHI / 517380
ISININE188B01013
SectorAuto Ancillary (Micro Motors)
Dividend TypeFinal Dividend (FY26)
Dividend / Share₹1.30 (13%)
Dividend Yield*~0.29%
Record / Ex-Date31 Jul 2026
Payment (outer limit)By 6 Sep 2026
Total Outflow~₹4.09 crore

*Yield on last verified close of ₹456.10 (24 Jul 2026, NSE). CMP must be re-verified at publish time; the stock trades ex-dividend on 31 Jul 2026.

Dividend Announcement Summary

At its board meeting on 21 May 2026, the Board of Directors of Igarashi Motors India Limited recommended a final dividend of ₹1.30 per equity share of ₹10 face value for the financial year ended 31 March 2026. The recommendation was made alongside the audited FY26 results, on which the statutory auditor (B S R & Co. LLP) issued an unmodified opinion.

The headline that most aggregators miss: this ₹1.30 payout is a 48% cut from the ₹2.50 paid for FY25. The reduction was not a capital-return decision — it tracked a matching collapse in profit. Net profit for FY26 fell ~50% to ₹12.15 crore from ₹24.17 crore, even as revenue rose. Management effectively held the payout ratio near one-third of earnings, so a smaller profit produced a smaller dividend.

Key Dates Timeline

Board Announcement21 May 2026
AGM Notice Dispatched3 Jul 2026
TDS Document Deadline24 Jul 2026
Ex-Date (T+1)31 Jul 2026
Record Date31 Jul 2026
Book Closure1–7 Aug 2026
34th AGM (approval)7 Aug 2026
Payment (outer limit)By 6 Sep 2026

Ex-date inferred as record date under the T+1 settlement convention and confirmed by the company’s Regulation 42 record-date intimation dated 13 July 2026. Exact payment date not disclosed by company; 30-day statutory outer limit shown.

Dividend Yield Analysis

Yield on latest CMP (~₹456)~0.29%
Yield on announcement price (~₹390)~0.33%
Auto-components industry avg~0.6%

At roughly 0.29%, Igarashi’s yield is less than half the auto-ancillary average. This is not an income stock. The low yield is a product of a high share price relative to a thin dividend: the stock trades near 118× earnings despite the profit fall, so even a modest ₹1.30 payout screens as a negligible yield.

Yield reality check: the yield fell versus last year for the “wrong” reason — the dividend was cut (₹2.50 → ₹1.30), not because the price rose. A rising price cutting the yield can be benign; a shrinking dividend cutting the yield reflects weaker earnings. Here it is the latter.

Dividend History Analysis

Financial Year Dividend / Share Type Ex-Date
FY2025-26₹1.30Final31 Jul 2026
FY2024-25₹2.50Final31 Jul 2025
FY2023-24₹1.00Final31 Jul 2024
FY2022-23₹1.00Final31 Jul 2023
FY2020-21₹1.50Final29 Jul 2021
FY2019-20₹1.20Final9 Sep 2020
FY2018-19₹4.90Final19 Sep 2019
FY2017-18₹5.34Final2 Aug 2018
FY2016-17₹5.88Final25 Jul 2017

History compiled from exchange/registrar dividend records (TipRanks, exchange filings). Figures on a ₹10 face value basis. FY2021-22 record not independently verified.

Classification: Cyclical Payer. Igarashi has paid a dividend every year, but the amount has swung widely with earnings — from ₹5–6 at the 2017–18 profit peak down to the ₹1–2.50 range since FY20. It is a consistent payer but not a consistent grower.

The FY26 ₹1.30 is the first cut in three years after two years of increases (₹1.00 → ₹2.50 → ₹1.30). Anyone extrapolating last year’s ₹2.50 would have mis-modelled 2026 income by nearly half.

Financial Performance Analysis

Metric (₹ crore) FY2024-25 FY2025-26 Change
Revenue from operations838.42865.92+3.3%
EBITDA95.0582.73−13.0%
EBITDA margin11.34%9.55%−179 bps
Profit before tax32.5116.51−49.2%
Net profit (PAT)24.1712.15−49.7%
EPS (₹)7.683.86−49.7%

The core finding wire-services skip: this is textbook negative operating leverage. Revenue grew 3.3%, yet PBT and PAT both nearly halved. When sales rise but profit falls this hard, the cause is cost structure, not demand. Two line items did the damage:

  • Employee benefit expense rose ~18% (+₹6.83 crore), including a one-time ₹71.95 lakh charge from the new Labour Codes effective 21 Nov 2025.
  • Other expenses rose ~23% (+₹4.77 crore) — the single largest swing factor.
  • These outran a 3.3% revenue rise, and a ₹5.46 crore step-up in depreciation added further pressure. Lower finance costs (−₹2.39 crore) only partly offset the damage.

Segment split matters: the automotive segment actually grew 9.4% to ₹761.78 crore (88% of revenue), but the non-automotive segment shrank 26.8% to ₹104.14 crore — a drag the consolidated top-line partly masks. The profit decline is a margin story, not a revenue story.

Cash Flow Analysis

Operating cash flow (OCF)₹93.80 cr
OCF ÷ PAT7.7×
Capex (PPE + development)₹79.82 cr
Free cash flow (FCF)₹13.98 cr
FCF coverage of dividend3.4×

Reported profit is an opinion; cash is a fact. Here the two diverge favourably: PAT was only ₹12.15 crore, but the business generated ₹93.80 crore of operating cash — because a heavy ₹57 crore depreciation and amortisation charge depresses profit without consuming cash. On cash generation, FY26 was far healthier than the profit line suggests.

But the dividend is funded from current cash flow, not reserves. After ₹79.82 crore of capex — a heavy investment year — free cash flow shrinks to ₹13.98 crore. The ₹4.09 crore dividend is comfortably covered 3.4× by FCF, so it is affordable. The caveat: if capex stays this elevated and profits do not recover, the FCF cushion is thinner than the raw OCF number implies.

Cash-quality flag: trade receivables jumped +24.6% to ₹216.23 crore against only +3.3% revenue growth — roughly 91 days of sales locked in receivables. Rising receivables far ahead of sales is a classic sign that reported growth is not fully converting to collected cash, and it is a key reason the company still leans on short-term borrowings.

Balance Sheet Strength

Total equity (net worth)₹466.63 cr
Total borrowings₹129.01 cr
Cash + investments₹4.54 cr
Net debt₹124.47 cr
Debt-to-equity0.28×

Net worth is solid at ₹466.63 crore and gearing is moderate at 0.28×. The non-obvious point: Igarashi holds only ₹4.54 crore of cash and investments against ₹129 crore of borrowings. This is a net-debt company paying a dividend — the payout comes from operating cash flow, not a cash pile.

Because the cash balance is so thin, cash coverage of the dividend is just 1.1× — the balance sheet alone could barely fund one year’s payout. That is acceptable only because operating cash generation is strong and the dividend is small. It does, however, explain why Igarashi keeps ₹111.76 crore of current borrowings to finance its large working-capital base (receivables + inventory of ~₹333 crore).

Dividend Sustainability Analysis

Sustainability Test Metric Read
Earnings coverage (EPS ÷ DPS)2.97×Comfortable
OCF coverage (OCF ÷ outflow)22.9×Very strong
FCF coverage (FCF ÷ outflow)3.4×Adequate
Cash coverage (cash ÷ outflow)1.1×Thin cushion

Verdict: Moderately Sustainable. The dividend itself is tiny (₹4.09 crore) relative to ₹93.80 crore of operating cash, so affordability is not in question — earnings, OCF and FCF all cover it with room to spare. The flags are qualitative, not arithmetic: (1) the payout ratio at ~34% is fine, but it sits on a profit base that just halved; (2) the cash cushion is thin; and (3) the payout has already been cut once in response to weaker profit. If FY27 earnings do not stabilise, a further trim — not a suspension — would be the likely lever.

Peer Comparison

Company Div Yield Payout ROE P/E
Igarashi Motors~0.29%~34%2.6%~118×
Sundram Fasteners~0.75%~30%~13.8%~30×
Suprajit Engineering———~37×
Pricol———~30×
Auto-components avg~0.6%———

Peer cells marked “—” are left blank where data could not be verified from primary sources. Peer figures are indicative and must be re-verified at publish time.

Against a well-run comparator like Sundram Fasteners — ~0.75% yield, ~14% ROE, ~30× P/E — Igarashi screens as lower-yielding, far lower-return, and dramatically more expensive (a 118× P/E on a 2.6% ROE). On a payout-ratio basis the two are similar (~30–34%), but the quality of the earnings backing that payout is not comparable.

Promoter Impact Analysis

Promoter holding75.0%
FII holding~0.1%
DII holding~2.1%
Public + others~22.8%
Total dividend outflow~₹4.09 cr
To promoters (75%)~₹3.07 cr
To public + institutions~₹1.02 cr

The promoter group — led by Agile Electric Sub Assembly (part of the Igarashi Electric Works, Japan group) — holds 75%, so roughly ₹3.07 crore of the ₹4.09 crore flows back to promoters. Institutional interest is minimal (FII ~0.1%, DII ~2.1%), so the free-float retail and public shareholder base of ~22.8% shares the remaining ~₹1.02 crore. The distribution is proportionate to holdings — there is no preferential class — but the small free float and negligible institutional ownership are worth noting for liquidity and price-discovery.

Taxation Analysis

Since FY 2020-21, dividends in India are taxable in the hands of the shareholder at their applicable income-tax slab rate — there is no separate Dividend Distribution Tax. The company deducts TDS at 10% on dividends only where the total dividend paid to a resident shareholder in a financial year exceeds ₹5,000 (a higher 20% rate applies if PAN is not furnished). Shareholders with income below the taxable limit can file Form 15G/15H to avoid TDS. Igarashi’s intimation referenced the Income-tax Act, 2025 framework and set a 24 July 2026 deadline for submitting tax documents.

Worked example — retail investor holding 1,000 shares

Gross dividend (1,000 × ₹1.30)₹1,300
TDS @10% (below ₹5,000 threshold → none)₹0
Tax at 30% slab (self-assessed)₹390
Net dividend in hand₹910
Effective post-tax yield (on ~₹456)~0.20%

Illustrative only; excludes surcharge/cess. A ₹1,300 payout is below the ₹5,000 TDS threshold, so no tax is withheld at source — but it remains taxable and must be declared. Not tax advice.

Key Risks

1. Margin compression persists

EBITDA margin fell 179 bps to 9.55% as employee and other costs outran revenue. If this cost base sticks, profit stays depressed.

2. Extreme valuation vs earnings

A ~118× P/E on a 2.6% ROE leaves little room for disappointment; any further profit miss carries de-rating risk.

3. Working-capital / receivables stretch

Receivables rose 24.6% vs 3.3% sales growth (~91 days), tying up cash and sustaining reliance on ~₹112 crore of short-term debt.

4. Non-automotive segment decline

The non-auto (incl. BLDC/consumer) segment fell 26.8%, undercutting the diversification thesis away from auto cyclicality.

5. Customer / export concentration

As a Tier-1 micro-motor supplier with heavy export exposure, Igarashi is sensitive to global auto demand, FX and a few large OEM relationships.

6. AGM approval & cyclical payout

The dividend is not final until the 7 Aug 2026 AGM, and history shows the payout can be cut sharply when earnings fall.

What To Monitor

1. Quarterly EBITDA margin trajectory

Watch whether margin recovers from 9.55% toward the ~11% prior level — the single most important swing factor for profit.

2. Receivable days & cash conversion

Track whether the 91-day receivables normalise and OCF continues to exceed reported profit.

3. Capex cycle & FCF

FY26 capex was ~₹80 crore. A moderation would rebuild the FCF cushion; continued heavy spend keeps it thin.

4. Non-automotive / BLDC recovery

Re-acceleration of the non-auto and ESDM/BLDC lines would validate diversification and lift blended margins.

5. Order book & new-programme wins

New actuator/EV motor programmes and export order momentum drive the multi-year revenue base.

6. Debt & interest cost

Whether short-term borrowings (~₹112 crore) fall as working capital eases, and the direction of finance costs.

Conclusion

Positives

  • Strong operating cash generation — ₹93.80 crore OCF, 7.7× PAT.
  • Dividend comfortably covered by earnings (2.97×) and FCF (3.4×); every-year payer.
  • Moderate gearing (0.28×) and a solid ₹466 crore net worth; automotive segment grew 9.4%.

Negatives

  • Profit nearly halved despite revenue growth — sharp negative operating leverage.
  • Dividend cut 48% (₹2.50 → ₹1.30); yield a negligible ~0.29%.
  • Very thin cash cushion (1.1×), 24.6% receivables jump, and a ~118× P/E on 2.6% ROE.

Igarashi’s FY26 dividend is safe but small, and lower than last year for a reason: earnings, not generosity, set the payout. For income seekers the ~0.29% yield is immaterial. The more important story for any shareholder is whether margins recover — the dividend will follow the profit, as it always has. We present the evidence; the decision is yours.

Frequently Asked Questions

What dividend has Igarashi Motors announced for FY2025-26?
A final dividend of ₹1.30 per equity share (13% on face value of ₹10), recommended by the Board on 21 May 2026 for the financial year ended 31 March 2026. It is subject to shareholder approval at the AGM.
What is the dividend yield?
Approximately 0.29% on the last verified close of ~₹456 (24 Jul 2026). That is less than half the ~0.6% auto-components industry average — Igarashi is not an income stock. Re-verify the price at publish time.
What is the record date?
31 July 2026, per the company’s Regulation 42 intimation. Shareholders on the register as on that date are eligible for the dividend. Book closure runs 1–7 August 2026.
What is the ex-date?
31 July 2026. Under India’s T+1 settlement cycle the ex-date coincides with the record date. Buy on or after this date and you will not receive this dividend.
When will the dividend be paid?
The company will pay/dispatch it within 30 days of the AGM (7 August 2026) — i.e. on or before ~6 September 2026. The exact payment date was not separately disclosed; the statutory outer limit is shown.
Who is eligible for the dividend?
Any shareholder whose name appears in the register of members / beneficial owner records as on the record date, 31 July 2026. To qualify, shares must have been bought before the ex-date.
How is the dividend taxed?
It is taxable in your hands at your income-tax slab rate. The company deducts 10% TDS only if your total dividend for the year exceeds ₹5,000 (20% without PAN). A 1,000-share holding earns ₹1,300 — below the threshold, so no TDS — but it is still taxable.
Is the dividend sustainable?
Moderately sustainable. At ₹4.09 crore it is tiny against ₹93.80 crore of operating cash and is covered 2.97× by earnings. The caution is that it sits on a profit base that just halved and a thin cash cushion (1.1×), and it has already been cut once.
What is Igarashi’s dividend history?
It has paid every year but the amount swings with earnings: ₹5.88 (FY17) and ₹5.34 (FY18) at the profit peak, then ₹1.20–1.50 through FY20–21, ₹1.00 in FY23–24, ₹2.50 in FY25, now cut to ₹1.30 in FY26. It is a cyclical payer, not a steady grower.
Why did profit fall when revenue rose?
Negative operating leverage. Revenue rose 3.3% but costs rose faster — employee expense +18% (incl. a ₹71.95 lakh Labour Code charge) and other expenses +23%. EBITDA margin fell 179 bps to 9.55%, halving profit to ₹12.15 crore.
Is the dividend funded from cash reserves or borrowings?
From current operating cash flow. Igarashi holds only ₹4.54 crore of cash/investments against ₹129 crore of borrowings — it is a net-debt company. The payout comes out of the ₹93.80 crore OCF, not a cash pile or new debt.
How much of the dividend goes to promoters?
Promoters hold 75%, so about ₹3.07 crore of the ₹4.09 crore flows to them; roughly ₹1.02 crore goes to public and institutional shareholders. The split is proportionate to holdings.
What should investors monitor from here?
Quarterly EBITDA-margin recovery, receivable days and cash conversion, the capex/FCF cycle, a rebound in the non-automotive/BLDC segment, and the direction of short-term debt and finance costs.
What does Igarashi Motors India do?
It is a Chennai-based auto-ancillary that manufactures permanent-magnet DC micro-motors and actuators for automotive applications (throttle, EGR, seat and window systems) with heavy export exposure, plus a growing BLDC/non-automotive line. The Igarashi Electric Works (Japan) group is the majority owner.

Disclaimer

This article is published by ShareBazaar Online for informational and educational purposes only and does not constitute investment, financial, legal or tax advice, nor a recommendation to buy, sell or hold any security. ShareBazaar Online is not a SEBI-registered investment adviser or research analyst. Figures are drawn from the company’s audited FY2025-26 results, exchange filings and third-party market data; some market figures (current market price, exact announcement-date price and certain peer metrics) are indicative and must be independently re-verified at the time of reading, as prices and yields change continuously. The recommended dividend is subject to shareholder approval at the AGM. Readers should conduct their own due diligence and consult a SEBI-registered adviser and a qualified tax professional before making any decision. ShareBazaar Online accepts no liability for any loss arising from the use of this information.

Share this update
Back to Corporate Actions

Explore More Investment Opportunities

Discover IPOs, unlisted shares, and broker comparison tools curated for smart investors.