Dividend

Kalyani Steels Dividend 2026 — ₹10 (200%) Final Dividend | Record Date, Yield, Sustainability

Kalyani Steels Dividend 2026 — ₹10 (200%) Final Dividend | Record Date, Yield, Sustainability

Dividend Snapshot

Dividend / Share

₹10.00

Dividend %

200%

Face Value

₹5

Dividend Type

Final

Yield (at CMP)

1.14%

Payout Ratio

~17%

Total Outflow

₹43.73 Cr

Payer Profile

Consistent

CMP used: ₹881 (as on 30 Jul 2026). Yield must be re-verified at publish time — it moves with the live price. All financial figures below are on a consolidated basis unless stated otherwise, and are drawn from the audited results for the year ended 31 March 2026.

Dividend Announcement Summary

At its Board meeting on 8 May 2026, the Directors of Kalyani Steels recommended a final dividend of ₹10 per share for FY 2025-26 alongside audited standalone and consolidated results carrying an unmodified (clean) audit opinion from Kirtane & Pandit LLP. The same meeting saw two leadership changes: Mr. Shishir Joshipura (ex-CEO of Praj Industries) was appointed an Additional Independent Director, and Mr. Bantu Upendra Kumar Patro was appointed Chief Financial Officer effective 9 May 2026.

Why "recommended", not "declared": A final dividend is only a Board recommendation until members approve it at the AGM. Until 27 August 2026, the ₹10 payout is technically conditional — a distinction wire services usually skip.

Key Dates Timeline

Announcement Date

8 May 2026

Board meeting — confirmed by company filing

Record Date

31 July 2026 (Today)

Per company / AGM notice

Ex-Date

31 July 2026 (Inferred, T+1)

Under T+1 settlement, ex-date typically coincides with record date. Confirm against the exchange corporate-action circular.

Payment Date

Not Disclosed by Company

Statutory outer limit: within 30 days of AGM approval (AGM: 27 Aug 2026)

Dividend Yield Analysis

At a market price of ₹881, the ₹10 dividend gives a yield of 1.14%. That is a modest yield — and deliberately so. Kalyani Steels is not a high-yield stock; it is a low-payout compounder that returns roughly one-sixth of profit and reinvests the rest. The yield has stayed in a 1.1%–1.3% band across recent years, which tells you the payout has broadly tracked the share price rather than being juiced up.

Reality check: This yield is driven by a stable, modest dividend, not by a collapsing share price or a one-off special dividend. The stock is down only mildly over the past year, so the low yield reflects a full valuation on a low payout ratio, not distress. Investors chasing income should note the yield sits below a typical savings account; the case here is total return, not cash income.

Dividend History Analysis

Financial YearEPS (₹)DPS (₹)Payout %
FY 2025-2658.4510.0017%
FY 2024-2557.9610.0017%
FY 2023-2456.6910.0018%
FY 2022-2338.2610.0026%
FY 2021-2255.6510.0018%
FY 2020-2143.597.5017%

Source: company filings / Screener.in. Standalone EPS shown. Historical DPS/payout not independently re-audited — verify against annual reports before publishing.

Classification: Consistent Payer. KSL has paid a dividend every year for close to a decade, held the absolute payout at ₹10 since FY22, and kept the payout ratio anchored near 17%. The one outlier — 26% in FY23 — was a payout-ratio spike caused by a temporary dip in EPS to ₹38.26, not a bigger cheque. There have been no dividend cuts and no suspensions in the recent record, though there was no dividend in the earlier FY15–FY16 period.

Financial Performance Analysis

Revenue (Consol)

₹1,845.61 Cr

▼ 6.88% YoY (from ₹1,981.90 Cr)

Net Profit (Consol)

₹257.87 Cr

▲ 0.63% YoY (from ₹256.25 Cr)

EBITDA Margin

~19.6%

Broadly stable operating margin

EPS (Consol)

₹59.07

Standalone: ₹58.45

The non-obvious part: revenue fell nearly 7%, yet profit was flat to marginally higher. That is not an operating win — it is a cost-line rescue. Two items did the heavy lifting: finance costs collapsed to ₹8.6 Cr (from ₹18.6 Cr) as working-capital borrowing costs fell, and depreciation eased to ₹57 Cr (from ₹63.4 Cr). A ₹7.93 Cr exceptional charge (a one-time employee-benefit provision tied to the new Labour Codes) also hit the year. In short: the top line shrank, and the profit was held together below the operating line — a distinction that flatters the headline "profit grew".

Cash Flow Analysis

⚠ Headline Finding — Cash Conversion Deteriorated Sharply

Reported profit was flat, but the cash behind that profit shrank hard. Operating cash flow fell 63% — from ₹381.8 Cr to ₹140.8 Cr. Cash conversion (OCF as a share of PAT) dropped from a healthy 149% to just ~55%. Free cash flow followed: from ₹356.7 Cr down to ₹79.3 Cr. This is the single most important fact in this dividend event, and it is absent from wire-service coverage.

Operating Cash Flow FY26

₹140.76 Cr

▼ 63% (FY25: ₹381.83 Cr)

Free Cash Flow FY26

₹79.32 Cr

▼ 78% (FY25: ₹356.72 Cr)

Why did cash fall? The drop is working-capital driven, not a profit problem. Trade receivables rose ₹65 Cr (debtor days climbed from ~79 to ~98) while trade payables shrank ₹36 Cr — the company collected slower and paid suppliers faster, both of which drain cash. On top of this, capex more than doubled to ₹61.4 Cr (from ₹25.1 Cr), reflecting an expansion push visible in a large ₹560 Cr capital-work-in-progress balance.

How is this dividend funded? The ₹43.73 Cr outflow is still comfortably covered by this year's FCF (1.8x) and OCF (3.2x). But the coverage cushion has thinned dramatically — last year FCF covered the dividend roughly 8x over. This year the dividend leans far more on the balance-sheet cash pile than on freshly earned cash. Affordable: yes. Earned as comfortably as before: no.

Balance Sheet Strength

Cash + Bank + Investments

₹835.98 Cr

Total Borrowings

₹475.03 Cr

All current / working-capital; nil long-term debt

Net Position

Net Cash ₹360.95 Cr

Book Value / Share

₹481

Debt/Equity ~0.23

This is a fortress balance sheet. The company carries zero long-term debt; all ₹475 Cr of borrowings are short-term working-capital lines (including bill discounting). Against that sits ₹836 Cr of cash and investments, leaving KSL in a net-cash position of ~₹361 Cr. The dividend outflow is a rounding error against this — cash covers the payout ~19 times over. Balance-sheet risk to the dividend is negligible; the real question is the quality of cash generation, covered above.

Dividend Sustainability Analysis

Test 1 — Earnings Coverage

PASS • 5.9x

EPS ₹58.45 vs DPS ₹10

Test 2 — OCF Coverage

PASS • 3.2x

Cushion down sharply YoY

Test 3 — FCF Coverage

PASS (thin) • 1.8x

Was ~8x last year

Test 4 — Cash / Balance Sheet

PASS • 19x

Net cash ₹361 Cr

Verdict: Sustainable — with a cash-conversion watch flag

On every static test the dividend passes, some comfortably. The ₹10 payout is trivially affordable from a net-cash balance sheet and is well covered by earnings. The watch flag is directional, not structural: the FCF cushion thinned from ~8x to 1.8x in a single year because cash conversion fell. If receivables keep climbing and capex stays elevated, a low-payout policy like this can still be maintained from reserves — but the market prizes cash-backed dividends, and this year's was less cash-backed than usual.

Peer Comparison

MetricKalyani SteelsSector / Peer Context
Dividend Yield1.14%Verify vs peers at publish
Payout Ratio~17%—
ROE13.0%—
ROCE14.7%—
Net Debt / PositionNet Cash—
Stock P/E~15xIndustry P/E ~23x

Peer-cell values intentionally left blank where they cannot be verified from primary sources. Populate with a named, like-for-like special/alloy-steel peer set (e.g. Sunflag Iron & Steel, Mukand, Kirloskar Ferrous) before publishing — do not fill from memory.

Against the broader steel space, KSL screens as a low-yield, low-payout, high-quality specialty-steel play rather than an income stock. Its net-cash balance sheet and mid-teens ROE/ROCE are its differentiators; its sub-1.2% yield is not competitive for income seekers. It trades at a discount to the industry P/E, consistent with the recent revenue softness.

Promoter Impact Analysis

Promoter Holding

64.70%

Promoter dividend: ~₹28.29 Cr

Non-Promoter Split

Public 22.33% → ₹9.76 Cr

DIIs 11.14% → ₹4.87 Cr

FIIs 1.82% → ₹0.80 Cr

The Kalyani promoter group (linked to the wider Bharat Forge / Kalyani Group) holds 64.70% — a stake that has been rock-steady for years — and will therefore receive roughly ₹28.3 Cr of the ₹43.7 Cr distribution. This is normal for a promoter-controlled company, but it frames the low-payout policy honestly: because promoters take the majority of every rupee paid out, retaining ~83% of profit inside the company aligns promoter and minority interests toward reinvestment and compounding rather than income. Minority holders should be comfortable with capital-appreciation-led returns, not dividends.

Taxation Analysis

Since April 2020, dividends are taxed in the hands of the investor at their income-tax slab rate (there is no longer a Dividend Distribution Tax borne by the company). Under Section 194, the company deducts TDS at 10% if your total dividend from that company in a year exceeds ₹5,000 (a PAN must be on record, else 20%). Investors with income below the taxable limit can file Form 15G / 15H to avoid TDS.

Worked Example — 1,000 shares, 30% tax slab

Gross dividend (1,000 × ₹10)₹10,000
Less: TDS u/s 194 @10% (as > ₹5,000)₹1,000
Credited to bank₹9,000
Total tax at 30% slab (TDS is adjusted against this)₹3,000
Net dividend after full tax₹7,000
Pre-tax yield / Post-tax yield (@CMP)1.14% / ~0.79%

Illustrative. Actual tax depends on your total income, surcharge/cess, and slab. Not tax advice — consult a professional.

Key Risks

1. Environmental / regulatory shutdown risk (live). The CPCB ordered closure of KSL's Ginigera (Koppal) plant — its primary integrated facility — on 3 July 2026; power was cut on 14 July and operations halted. A conditional revocation came on 16 July and production resumed on 17 July 2026. The reprieve is conditional on ongoing compliance with Air/Water Act norms, so this risk is not fully closed.

2. Deteriorating cash conversion. OCF fell 63% and FCF fell ~78% in FY26 on rising receivables and higher capex. Persistent weak conversion would erode the dividend's cash backing even if the headline profit holds.

3. Revenue contraction & steel-cycle exposure. Revenue fell ~6.9% and 5-year sales growth is a weak ~9%. As a specialty/forging-grade steel maker tied to autos and capital goods, KSL is exposed to demand cyclicality and raw-material (iron ore, coke) price swings.

4. Governance / related-party history. The FY26 BRSR disclosed a SEBI settlement order relating to prior related-party-transaction non-compliance; the AGM also seeks large RPT approvals. Worth monitoring for a company where promoters hold nearly two-thirds.

5. Capex execution risk. A large ₹560 Cr capital-work-in-progress balance means significant capital is tied up in projects yet to generate returns; delays or cost overruns would pressure future FCF and returns.

What To Monitor

1. CPCB compliance status — any fresh directions, or confirmation that Ginigera-plant compliance conditions are permanently met.

2. Debtor days & operating cash flow — whether receivables normalise back toward ~79 days and OCF/PAT recovers above 100%.

3. Capex-to-commissioning — conversion of the ₹560 Cr CWIP into revenue-generating assets and the resulting volume/margin uplift.

4. Volume & realisation trend — whether the ~7% revenue decline reverses, and the auto/capital-goods demand pull for forging-grade steel.

5. New CFO / board actions on governance — how the incoming CFO (from 9 May 2026) and new independent directors handle RPT disclosure and capital allocation.

Conclusion

Kalyani Steels' ₹10 final dividend (200%) is the seventh straight year of a stable, low-payout distribution — a consistent-payer profile backed by a net-cash balance sheet and 5.9x earnings coverage. On affordability, there is no debate: cash covers the payout ~19 times over. The positives are the fortress balance sheet, clean audit, and disciplined 17% payout. The negatives are a ~7% revenue decline, a profit propped up below the operating line, and — most importantly — a 63% collapse in operating cash flow that thinned FCF dividend coverage from ~8x to 1.8x. Layered on top is a live environmental-compliance risk at the company's main plant, only conditionally resolved. The dividend itself is safe; the quality of the cash behind it, and the regulatory overhang, are what deserve watching. This is analysis, not advice — the positives, negatives, risks and monitorables are laid out so you can decide for yourself.

Frequently Asked Questions

What dividend has Kalyani Steels announced for FY 2025-26?
A final dividend of ₹10 per equity share on a face value of ₹5 — i.e. 200% — for FY 2025-26, recommended by the Board on 8 May 2026 and subject to approval at the 53rd AGM.
What is the dividend yield of Kalyani Steels?
At a market price of about ₹881, the yield is roughly 1.14%. This is a modest yield reflecting KSL's low ~17% payout policy. The yield changes with the live price, so re-check it before acting.
What is the record date for the Kalyani Steels dividend?
The record date is 31 July 2026. Shareholders on the company's register as of that date are eligible, once the AGM approves the dividend.
What is the ex-dividend date?
Under India's T+1 settlement, the ex-date normally coincides with the record date, i.e. 31 July 2026 (inferred). Confirm against the NSE/BSE corporate-action circular, as the exchange notice is the authoritative source.
When will the dividend be paid?
The payment date was not disclosed by the company. Because this is a final dividend, it will be paid after the AGM on 27 August 2026, within the statutory limit of 30 days of approval.
Who is eligible to receive the dividend?
Anyone holding KSL shares as of the record date (31 July 2026). To be on the register, shares generally had to be purchased before the ex-date so settlement completes in time.
How is this dividend taxed?
Dividends are taxable in your hands at your slab rate. The company deducts 10% TDS under Section 194 if your total dividend from KSL exceeds ₹5,000 in the year. For 1,000 shares (₹10,000 gross) an investor in the 30% slab keeps ₹7,000 after tax.
Is the Kalyani Steels dividend sustainable?
Yes, but with a watch flag. It passes all coverage tests — 5.9x earnings, 3.2x OCF, and ~19x cash. The caution is that FCF coverage fell from ~8x to 1.8x this year as operating cash flow dropped 63%. The payout is affordable; the cash quality behind it weakened.
What is Kalyani Steels' dividend history?
KSL is a consistent payer. It has held the dividend at ₹10 per share since FY22 (₹7.50 in FY21), with a payout ratio steady around 17%. There have been no cuts or suspensions in the recent record.
Why did profit rise when revenue fell?
Revenue fell ~6.9%, but profit was flat because finance costs and depreciation fell and other income held up. The profit was defended below the operating line rather than by stronger sales — an important nuance.
What was the CPCB plant-closure issue?
The CPCB ordered closure of KSL's main Ginigera (Koppal) plant on 3 July 2026 over environmental non-compliance; power was cut on 14 July. A conditional revocation followed on 16 July and operations resumed on 17 July 2026, subject to ongoing compliance.
How much of the dividend goes to promoters?
Promoters hold 64.70%, so about ₹28.3 Cr of the ₹43.7 Cr total distribution flows to them. Public shareholders (22.33%) receive ~₹9.8 Cr and institutions the rest.
What should investors monitor going forward?
CPCB compliance status, debtor days and OCF recovery, conversion of the ₹560 Cr capital-work-in-progress into output, the revenue trend, and governance actions by the new CFO and board on related-party transactions.
Does Kalyani Steels have debt?
It has no long-term debt. All ~₹475 Cr of borrowings are short-term working-capital lines, offset by ~₹836 Cr of cash and investments — leaving KSL in a net-cash position of ~₹361 Cr.

Disclaimer

This article is for informational and educational purposes only and does not constitute investment, financial, legal or tax advice, nor a recommendation to buy, sell or hold any security. ShareBazaar Online is not a SEBI-registered investment adviser. Figures are drawn from the company's audited filing dated 8 May 2026 and publicly available sources; market data and yields are time-sensitive and must be re-verified against live exchange data before acting. Some dates (ex-date, payment date) are inferred or undisclosed and are flagged as such. Dividends are subject to shareholder approval at the AGM. Investors should conduct their own due diligence and consult a qualified financial adviser. ShareBazaar Online accepts no liability for decisions taken on the basis of this content.

Share this update
Back to Corporate Actions

Explore More Investment Opportunities

Discover IPOs, unlisted shares, and broker comparison tools curated for smart investors.