Dividend

Divi's Laboratories ₹30 Dividend FY26 | Record Date, Yield & Sustainability

Divi's Laboratories ₹30 Dividend FY26 | Record Date, Yield & Sustainability

Dividend Snapshot

Dividend Per Share

₹30.00

1,500% on ₹2 face value

Dividend Yield

~0.40%

At CMP ₹7,425 (verify live price)

Dividend Type

Final Dividend

Annual payer • Consistent

Record Date

24 Jul 2026

Eligibility locked

Estimated Payout Outflow

~₹796 Cr

On ~26.55 crore shares

Payout Ratio (Consolidated)

~31%

Of FY26 PAT of ₹2,568 Cr

Dividend Announcement Summary

At its board meeting held on 23 May 2026, the Board of Directors of Divi's Laboratories Limited recommended a final dividend of ₹30 per equity share of face value ₹2 each — equal to 1,500% — for the financial year ended 31 March 2026. The dividend is subject to shareholder approval at the ensuing 36th Annual General Meeting.

What was declared

A single annual final dividend of ₹30/share. Divi's does not typically declare interim dividends, so this is the full FY26 payout — identical in rupee terms to the last four years.

Why it matters

FY26 profit rose 17.2% yet the dividend stayed flat at ₹30. That means the effective payout ratio has quietly fallen from ~36% to ~31%, with the company retaining more cash for its heavy capacity-expansion cycle.

Key Dates Timeline

23 May 2026

Announcement / Board Meeting

Board recommends ₹30 final dividend (Regulation 30 disclosure).

24 Jul 2026

Record Date & Ex-Date

Company-disclosed record date. Under India's T+1 settlement, the ex-date aligns with the record date — shares must have been bought on or before 23 Jul 2026 to qualify. Ex-date inferred from T+1 logic; confirm on NSE/BSE.

10 Aug 2026

36th Annual General Meeting

Shareholders vote to approve the dividend.

By ~09 Sep 2026

Payment Date (Estimated)

Not disclosed by company — the filing says "within specified timelines from the conclusion of the AGM." The statutory outer limit is 30 days from AGM approval. Last year the dividend was credited within ~6 days of the AGM. Payment date derived from statutory limit, not a company disclosure.

Dividend Yield Analysis

Yield at Announcement

~0.44%

₹30 ÷ ₹6,885 (NSE close, 22 May 2026)

Yield at Latest Price

~0.40%

₹30 ÷ ₹7,425 (NSE close, 28 Jul 2026)

Yield reality check

A yield of roughly 0.40% is very low — well below the healthcare sector average of around 1.8%. Crucially, this is not because the dividend is weak. It is because the stock trades at a premium valuation (P/E near 76 and about 11.8x book value). Divi's is a growth-and-quality stock, not an income stock: shareholders are paid mostly through capital appreciation, with the dividend a small top-up. Anyone buying purely for dividend income would find the yield far too thin.

Dividend History Analysis

Financial Year Dividend / Share % on FV ₹2 Type
FY2025-26₹30.001,500%Final (current)
FY2024-25₹30.001,500%Final
FY2023-24₹30.001,500%Final
FY2022-23₹30.001,500%Final
FY2021-22₹30.001,500%Final
FY2020-21₹20.001,000%Final
FY2019-20₹16.00800%Interim
FY2018-19₹16.00800%Final
FY2017-18₹10.00500%Final
FY2016-17₹10.00500%Final

Face value has been ₹2 throughout, so per-share figures are directly comparable (no split/bonus adjustment needed). Source: exchange dividend records & corporate-action histories; some prior-year figures not independently re-verified against original filings.

Classification: Consistent Payer

Divi's has paid an uninterrupted, uncut dividend every year for well over a decade, roughly tripling the per-share payout from ₹10 to ₹30 over the last 10 years. There are no suspensions or cuts on record.

The plateau to watch

The rupee dividend has been frozen at ₹30 for five straight years (FY22-FY26) even as profits kept growing. The growth phase of the dividend appears to have paused while the company channels cash into capacity.

Financial Performance Analysis

Consolidated results (₹ Crore)

MetricFY26FY25Growth
Revenue from operations10,5609,360+12.8%
Total income11,0679,712+14.0%
Profit before tax (reported)3,3882,916+16.2%
PBT before exceptional item3,4622,916+18.7%
Net profit (PAT)2,5682,191+17.2%
EPS (Basic & Diluted)₹96.75₹82.53+17.2%

Operating leverage: profit outran sales

Revenue rose 12.8% but PAT rose a faster 17.2%, and pre-exceptional PBT grew 18.7%. Positive operating leverage is at work — costs grew slower than sales (total expenses up ~11.9% to ₹7,605 Cr), lifting margins. This is the opposite of the "sales up, profit down" red flag.

One-off that dented reported PBT

A ₹74 Cr exceptional charge for the new Labour Codes (higher provisioning on the revised wage definition) held reported PBT growth to 16.2%. Strip it out and the underlying business grew 18.7%. The effective tax rate was a normal ~24.2%.

Standalone vs consolidated

Interestingly, standalone PAT (₹2,607 Cr) is higher than consolidated PAT (₹2,568 Cr). The two overseas subsidiaries — Divis Laboratories (USA) Inc and Divi's Laboratories Europe AG — are a small drag of about ₹39 Cr on the group. This is a marketing/distribution structure, so the divergence is modest and not a concern.

Cash Flow Analysis

Operating Cash Flow (FY26)

₹2,738 Cr

vs PAT of ₹2,568 Cr — OCF exceeds profit (healthy cash conversion of ~107%)

Free Cash Flow (FY26)

~₹218 Cr

OCF ₹2,738 Cr − capex ₹2,520 Cr — thin, because of a capex-heavy year

The most important finding wire services miss: how the dividend is actually funded

Reported profit is an opinion; cash is a fact. On that test Divi's passes at the operating level — operating cash flow of ₹2,738 Cr comfortably exceeds net profit of ₹2,568 Cr, so earnings are genuinely converting into cash. But free cash flow was only ~₹218 Cr because the company spent a near-record ₹2,520 Cr on capex in FY26 (up ~75% from ₹1,438 Cr the year before) as it builds new capacity, including for the emerging peptide / GLP-1 opportunity.

The consequence: this year's ~₹796 Cr dividend is not covered by current-year free cash flow (coverage of just 0.27x). It is being funded partly from the company's large cash and bank reserves rather than from surplus cash generated in the year. This is a capex-cycle timing effect, not an earnings problem — OCF alone covers the dividend 3.4x, the balance sheet is debt-free, and reserves are ample. Investors should simply be aware that FCF cover will stay tight until the current expansion wave normalises.

Receivables and working capital

Trade receivables rose to ₹2,984 Cr and inventories to ₹3,954 Cr, with working-capital build absorbing cash during the year. Receivable growth broadly tracked the 12.8% revenue growth rather than sprinting ahead of it, so there is no obvious sign of aggressive revenue recognition — though the high working-capital intensity is a structural feature of Divi's business worth monitoring.

Balance Sheet Strength

Total Equity

₹16,761 Cr

Book value ~₹631/share

Total Borrowings

Nil

Effectively debt-free (prior year had just ₹2 Cr)

Cash + Bank Balances

~₹3,414 Cr

₹128 Cr cash + ₹3,286 Cr bank deposits

Dividend vs Liquidity

4.3x cover

Cash & deposits cover the ₹796 Cr payout 4.3 times

The balance sheet is a fortress: zero debt, ₹16,761 Cr of equity, and roughly ₹3,414 Cr of cash and bank deposits. Even after a ₹2,520 Cr capex year, the company can pay its dividend several times over from liquidity alone. The only mild caveat is high working-capital intensity (large inventory and receivable balances typical of an API manufacturer).

Dividend Sustainability Analysis

Verdict

Sustainable

The ₹30 dividend clears every test except one-year FCF cover — and that single miss is explained entirely by an elevated capex cycle, not by weak earnings or a stretched balance sheet.

TestReadingAssessment
Earnings coverage (EPS/DPS)3.23xStrong
OCF coverage3.44xStrong
FCF coverage (FY26)0.27xWeak (capex year)
Cash & deposits coverage4.29xStrong
Payout ratio~31%Comfortable
Debt positionDebt-freeStrong

Peer Comparison

CompanyDiv/ShareApprox YieldPayoutROEROCEPromoter
Divi's Laboratories₹30 (FV ₹2)~0.40%~31%~15.3%~20.4%51.9%
Dr Reddy's Labs₹8 (FV ₹5)—~13%——26.6%
Sun Pharma——~34%———
Laurus Labs₹2.40 (FV ₹2)~0.20%~14-18%———

Blank cells = figure not independently verified from a primary source at time of writing (left blank rather than estimated). Face values differ across companies, so absolute dividend per share is not directly comparable — yield and payout ratio are the fair basis. Source: exchange filings and financial aggregators.

Read-through

Across the API / pharma peer set, yields are uniformly low (0.2-0.5%) — this is a growth-oriented sector, not a dividend sector. Divi's stands out for its debt-free balance sheet, high promoter ownership (~52%) and superior ROCE (~20%), balanced against the most premium valuation. Its ~31% payout sits in the middle of the peer range.

Promoter Impact Analysis

Promoter Holding

~51.9%

FII ~20% • DII ~19% • Public ~9% (Jun 2026)

Estimated Promoter Dividend Income

~₹413 Cr

51.9% of the ~₹796 Cr total payout

Because the promoter family (the Divi family) owns roughly 52% of the company, a little over half of every rupee distributed — about ₹413 Cr — flows to promoters. The remaining ~₹383 Cr goes to public shareholders, FIIs and domestic institutions. The dividend is paid uniformly per share, so minority and promoter shareholders are treated identically on a per-share basis; there is no preferential distribution. High promoter ownership also tends to align management incentives with dividend continuity.

Taxation Analysis

How dividends are taxed in India (post-2020 rules)

Since April 2020, dividends are taxed in the hands of the investor at their applicable income-tax slab rate — there is no separate Dividend Distribution Tax. The company deducts TDS at 10% if your total dividend from that company in a financial year exceeds ₹5,000 (higher TDS applies if PAN is not provided). This TDS is adjustable against your final tax liability when you file your return.

Worked example — investor holding 1,000 shares

Shares held1,000
Dividend per share₹30
Gross dividend₹30,000
TDS deducted at source (10%)₹3,000
Amount credited to bank₹27,000
Final tax if in 30% slab₹9,000
Net dividend after full tax (30% slab)₹21,000
Effective post-tax yield (at CMP ₹7,425)~0.28%

For a 30%-slab investor, the ₹3,000 TDS is set off against the ₹9,000 final liability, leaving ₹6,000 payable at filing. Investors in lower slabs pay less; those below the taxable threshold can claim the TDS back as a refund. This is general information, not tax advice — consult a qualified professional for your situation.

Key Risks

1. Capex intensity keeps FCF thin. With ₹2,520 Cr spent in FY26 and a further ₹2,113 Cr of capital work-in-progress on the books, free cash flow will remain tight until new plants ramp. Dividend growth is likely to stay frozen while spending is high.

2. Premium valuation. At a P/E near 76 and ~11.8x book value, the stock prices in years of strong growth. Any earnings disappointment could hurt the share price far more than the small dividend could cushion.

3. Customer and product concentration. As a large generic-API and custom-synthesis supplier, Divi's revenue depends on a limited set of big global pharma customers and a handful of high-volume molecules; loss of any could dent cash generation.

4. Regulatory and quality risk. API manufacturing is subject to US FDA and other global inspections. An adverse observation at a key plant could disrupt exports and earnings.

5. Currency and pricing pressure. A large share of sales is exported, so rupee moves and generic price erosion affect margins — the FY26 forex gain of ₹211 Cr flatters results and may not recur.

6. High working-capital lock-up. Large inventory and receivable balances tie up cash and can pressure returns if the cycle lengthens.

What To Monitor

1. When capex peaks. Watch the capex and capital-work-in-progress lines each quarter. Once spending normalises, free cash flow should rebound — a potential trigger for the dividend to resume growing after five flat years.

2. Peptide / GLP-1 revenue ramp. Management and analysts point to new peptide and GLP-1 opportunities from FY27. Track whether these convert into revenue and margin.

3. Payout ratio trend. A payout that keeps falling (now ~31%) while cash piles up would raise capital-allocation questions — watch for any buyback or special dividend as an alternative.

4. Cash-conversion quality. Keep checking that operating cash flow stays at or above net profit; any sustained gap between reported profit and cash would be an early warning.

5. Margin trajectory. EBITDA and gross margins reveal whether pricing power and operating leverage are holding as the sales mix shifts toward custom synthesis and new molecules.

6. Regulatory scorecard. Outcomes of US FDA and other regulatory inspections at Divi's manufacturing units.

Conclusion

Divi's Laboratories has declared its fifth consecutive ₹30 final dividend, a payout backed by a debt-free balance sheet, ~₹3,400 Cr of cash and deposits, and operating cash flow that comfortably exceeds profit. On earnings, cash and liquidity tests the dividend is clearly sustainable.

The nuance most coverage misses: because FY26 was a heavy investment year (₹2,520 Cr of capex), free cash flow of ~₹218 Cr does not cover the ~₹796 Cr dividend — the shortfall is bridged from reserves. That is a timing feature of the expansion cycle, not a sign of stress. The flip side is that with profits up 17% and the dividend frozen, the payout ratio has drifted down to ~31%, and the yield of ~0.40% is far too low for income-seekers.

Positives: debt-free, strong cash conversion, consistent 10-year dividend record, high ROCE. Negatives / watch-items: thin FCF cover this year, flat dividend for five years, premium valuation, low yield. We present the facts; the decision is yours.

Frequently Asked Questions

What dividend has Divi's Laboratories announced for FY26?
A final dividend of ₹30 per equity share — equal to 1,500% of the ₹2 face value — for the financial year ended 31 March 2026, recommended at the board meeting on 23 May 2026 and subject to shareholder approval at the AGM.
What is the dividend yield?
Roughly 0.40% at a market price of around ₹7,425 (NSE close, 28 July 2026), and about 0.44% based on the ₹6,885 price around the announcement. Please verify the live price before relying on the yield.
What is the record date for the Divi's dividend?
The company-disclosed record date is 24 July 2026. Only shareholders on the register on that date are entitled to the dividend.
What is the ex-date?
Under India's T+1 settlement system the ex-date aligns with the record date of 24 July 2026 — meaning shares had to be bought on or before 23 July 2026 to qualify. This ex-date is inferred from settlement logic; confirm the exact date on the NSE/BSE corporate-action page.
When will the dividend be paid?
The company has not disclosed a specific payment date; the filing says it will be paid "within specified timelines from the conclusion of the AGM" on 10 August 2026. The statutory outer limit is 30 days after AGM approval (around 9 September 2026). Last year's dividend was credited within about a week of the AGM.
Who is eligible to receive it?
Anyone holding Divi's shares in their demat account as on the record date, 24 July 2026. Because that date has passed, eligibility is now fixed.
How is this dividend taxed?
Dividends are taxed at your income-tax slab rate. The company deducts 10% TDS if your dividend from Divi's in the year exceeds ₹5,000. For 1,000 shares (₹30,000 gross) a 30%-slab investor faces ₹9,000 total tax, of which ₹3,000 is TDS — leaving ₹21,000 net.
Is the Divi's dividend sustainable?
Yes, on our assessment it is sustainable. Earnings cover it 3.2x, operating cash flow covers it 3.4x, and cash-plus-deposits cover it 4.3x, all with zero debt. The one soft spot is that FY26 free cash flow (~₹218 Cr) did not cover the ~₹796 Cr payout because of a heavy capex year — a timing effect, not an earnings problem.
What is Divi's dividend history?
Divi's is a consistent annual payer with no cuts or suspensions on record. The per-share dividend rose from ₹10 (FY17) to ₹20 (FY21) and then to ₹30, where it has stayed for five straight years (FY22-FY26).
Why has the dividend stayed at ₹30 for five years despite rising profits?
The company is in a heavy capacity-expansion phase (₹2,520 Cr capex in FY26), so it is retaining more earnings to fund growth rather than raising the dividend. As a result the payout ratio has fallen from ~36% to ~31%.
How much of the dividend goes to promoters?
Promoters own about 51.9%, so roughly ₹413 Cr of the ~₹796 Cr total payout flows to the promoter family. All shareholders receive the same ₹30 per share.
Is Divi's a good dividend (income) stock?
Not for income. At ~0.40% the yield is far below the healthcare sector average and most bank deposits. Divi's is a growth-and-quality stock where returns come mainly from share-price appreciation; the dividend is a small bonus. We don't give buy/sell advice — assess it against your own goals.
What should investors monitor going forward?
When the capex cycle peaks (which should revive free cash flow), the ramp of new peptide/GLP-1 revenues from FY27, the payout-ratio trend, cash-conversion quality, and outcomes of regulatory inspections at key plants.
Does Divi's have any debt affecting the dividend?
No. Divi's is effectively debt-free (borrowings are nil in FY26). The dividend is being paid without any reliance on borrowings — a strong positive for payout safety.

Disclaimer

This article is for informational and educational purposes only and does not constitute investment, financial, legal or tax advice, nor any recommendation to buy, sell or hold any security. Figures relating to the dividend, record date and financial results are drawn from Divi's Laboratories' exchange filings dated 23 May 2026; market prices, yields, shareholding and peer data are sourced from third-party financial platforms and may change. The current market price must be verified against live NSE/BSE data before acting. Ex-date and payment date are inferred from settlement and statutory rules and are not company-disclosed. Ratio calculations are ShareBazaar Online's own workings and may differ from other providers due to methodology. Please consult a SEBI-registered investment adviser and a qualified tax professional before making any investment decision. ShareBazaar Online accepts no liability for any loss arising from reliance on this content.

Share this update
Back to Corporate Actions

Explore More Investment Opportunities

Discover IPOs, unlisted shares, and broker comparison tools curated for smart investors.