Dividend Snapshot
Bhagiradha Chemicals & Industries Limited (NSE: BHAGCHEM | BSE: 531719) has recommended a final dividend of ₹0.15 per equity share on a face value of ₹1 each, which works out to a dividend rate of 15%, for the financial year ended March 31, 2026. The record date is Thursday, July 23, 2026.
In rupee terms this is a small payout. The total cash leaving the company is roughly ₹1.95 crore, against a consolidated net profit of ₹18.17 crore and a market capitalisation of approximately ₹3,749 crore (at ₹289.10 per share, NSE, 08-Jul-2026). The dividend yield at that price is about 0.05% — among the lowest you will find on a listed Indian agrochemical stock.
Dividend Details
| Company | Bhagiradha Chemicals & Industries Ltd |
| NSE Symbol | BHAGCHEM |
| BSE Scrip Code | 531719 |
| ISIN | INE414D01027 |
| Dividend Type | Final Dividend |
| Dividend Per Share | ₹0.15 |
| Dividend Rate | 15% |
| Face Value | ₹1 |
| Financial Year | FY 2025-26 |
Key Numbers
| Shares Outstanding | 12,96,69,000 |
| Equity Share Capital | ₹12.97 Cr |
| Total Dividend Outflow | ₹1.95 Cr |
| Yield on Latest CMP | 0.05% |
| Yield on Announcement Price | 0.06% |
| Consolidated PAT FY26 | ₹18.17 Cr |
| Consolidated EPS FY26 | ₹1.40 |
| Payout Ratio (Consolidated) | 10.70% |
| Dividend Coverage | 9.33x |
What Stands Out
The dividend is flat year-on-year — the company paid ₹0.15 per share for FY 2024-25 as well, a fact the company itself notes in the results. Meanwhile consolidated net debt has expanded from roughly ₹54.67 crore to ₹212.13 crore in twelve months, and consolidated free cash flow was negative ₹148.13 crore because of the Bheema Fine Chemicals capacity build-out. So the ₹1.95 crore payout, while easily affordable, is being made by a group that is currently consuming cash, not generating it. We unpack this in detail below.
Dividend Announcement Summary
What the Board Approved
At its meeting on May 19, 2026 — which ran from 12:30 PM to 4:30 PM IST — the Board of Directors of Bhagiradha Chemicals & Industries Limited approved the audited standalone and consolidated financial results for the quarter and year ended March 31, 2026, and recommended a final dividend of ₹0.15 per equity share of face value ₹1.
The word "recommended" matters. A final dividend is not payable until shareholders approve it. That approval will be sought at the company's 33rd Annual General Meeting on Friday, July 31, 2026 at 11:00 AM, to be held through video conferencing. Until that vote passes, the dividend is a proposal, not an entitlement.
Other Board Decisions
- Unmodified (clean) statutory audit opinion on both standalone and consolidated results from R. Kankaria & Uttam Singhi, Chartered Accountants.
- Re-appointment of M/s Sagar & Associates as Cost Auditors for FY 2026-27.
- Re-appointment of CA Sunesh Agarwal as Internal Auditor for FY 2026-27.
- Share Transfer Books and Register of Members closed from Friday, July 24, 2026 to Friday, July 31, 2026 (both days inclusive).
- Mr. Jagannatham Puttaparthi appointed as scrutinizer for AGM e-voting.
Management Commentary
Not Disclosed by Company. The board outcome intimation filed with BSE and NSE contains no qualitative management commentary on the dividend decision, capital allocation policy, or outlook. The only narrative disclosures in the filing are technical accounting notes on the concessional 22% tax rate election, the four new labour codes notified on November 21, 2025 (assessed as not material), and the single reportable segment classification.
Investors looking for management's reasoning will need to wait for the FY 2025-26 Annual Report and the Director's Report, which the board also approved on May 19, 2026.
Key Dates Timeline
| Event | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Board Meeting / Announcement | 19-05-2026 (Tuesday) | Company filing |
| Record Date | 23-07-2026 (Thursday) | Company filing |
| Ex-Dividend Date | 23-07-2026 (Thursday) | Exchange convention under T+1 |
| Last Day to Buy for Eligibility | 22-07-2026 (Wednesday) | Derived |
| Book Closure Period | 24-07-2026 to 31-07-2026 | Company filing |
| 33rd Annual General Meeting | 31-07-2026, 11:00 AM (VC/OAVM) | Company filing |
| Payment Date | Not Disclosed by Company | — |
On the Ex-Date
The company disclosed a record date but did not separately disclose an ex-date. Under India's T+1 rolling settlement cycle, the exchange-notified ex-date for a corporate action is ordinarily the same trading day as the record date. On that basis the ex-date is 23-07-2026, and you must own the shares by the close of 22-07-2026 for the trade to settle in time. Always confirm against the NSE and BSE corporate action circulars before trading around the date.
On the Payment Date
The filing states only that the dividend, if approved, will be paid "within the timelines prescribed under the law." Under Section 127 of the Companies Act, 2013, a declared dividend must be paid within 30 days of declaration. Since declaration happens at the AGM on 31-07-2026, the outer limit is on or around 30-08-2026. The company has not committed to a specific date.
For context, last year's ₹0.15 dividend had a record date of 14-08-2025 and was paid on 21-09-2025 (source: TipRanks dividend history).
Dividend Yield Analysis
The Arithmetic
| Dividend Per Share | ₹0.15 |
| Closing price around announcement (20-05-2026) | ₹256.60 |
| Announcement Yield | 0.06% |
| Latest verified CMP (NSE, 08-07-2026) | ₹289.10 |
| Yield on Latest CMP | 0.05% |
| Post-tax yield for a 30%-slab investor | 0.04% |
Cited prices are from public market data providers (Bajaj Broking, Groww, Screener). Prices move; verify before acting.
Yield Reality Check: Why Is It This Low?
A dividend yield can look unusual for four reasons — a generous dividend, a collapsed share price, a one-off special payout, or a token dividend from a company that is retaining almost everything. BHAGCHEM is squarely in the fourth bucket, with a twist.
Reason 1: The absolute dividend is tiny
₹0.15 on a ₹1 face value share. Total group outflow of ₹1.95 crore against consolidated revenue of ₹535.94 crore. That is 0.36% of revenue.
Reason 2: The share price is expensive relative to earnings
At ₹289.10 against consolidated EPS of ₹1.40, the trailing P/E is roughly 206x. A high P/E mechanically compresses dividend yield even when payout policy is unchanged.
Reason 3: Earnings collapsed relative to the past
Consolidated PBT fell 16.4% to ₹21.11 crore. When the earnings base shrinks, a company holding its dividend flat is effectively raising its payout ratio without raising the cheque.
Reason 4: Capital is going into the ground, not to shareholders
Consolidated capex of ₹160.14 crore in FY26 alone — 82 times the dividend. Management is prioritising the Bheema expansion over distribution.
The honest read: this is not an income stock and the company is not pretending it is. The dividend is a token continuity payment. Anyone buying BHAGCHEM before the record date purely to capture ₹0.15 per share should note that the payout is smaller than a typical single day's price movement in the stock — the shares moved between ₹282.80 and ₹291.55 in a single session on 08-Jul-2026, a range of nearly ₹9.
Dividend History Analysis
Declared Dividends — Last Decade
| Record Date | Payment Date | Dividend / Share | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| 23-07-2026 | Not Disclosed by Company | ₹0.15 | Final (proposed) |
| 14-08-2025 | 21-09-2025 | ₹0.15 | Final |
| 02-08-2024 | 08-09-2024 | ₹0.10 | Final |
| 27-07-2023 | 03-09-2023 | ₹0.30 | Final |
| 17-11-2022 | 04-12-2022 | ₹0.10 | Interim |
| 05-08-2022 | 11-09-2022 | ₹0.20 | Final |
| 12-11-2021 | 29-11-2021 | ₹0.09 | Interim |
| FY 2020-21 | — | No dividend recorded | — |
| 02-08-2019 | 08-09-2019 | ₹0.18 | Final |
| FY 2018-19 and earlier | — | Records available on the company's investor page | — |
Historical amounts sourced from TipRanks dividend history and the company's own dividend disclosure page. Per-share figures for earlier years reflect subsequent capital restructuring and are shown on a comparable basis as reported by the data provider; readers reconstructing exact historical rupee receipts should refer to the relevant year's annual report.
What the Pattern Shows
- No fixed dividend policy is visible. The per-share amount has moved between ₹0.09 and ₹0.30 with no discernible formula tied to earnings.
- Gaps exist. There is no dividend recorded for FY 2020-21 in the company's own dividend disclosure listing, which jumps from 2019-20 to 2021-22.
- Cuts have happened. The payout fell from ₹0.30 (FY 2022-23) to ₹0.10 (FY 2023-24) — a two-thirds reduction — before recovering to ₹0.15.
- Frequency has varied. Interim dividends appeared in FY22 and FY23; since FY24 the company has paid a single annual final dividend.
- FY26 is a hold, not a raise. ₹0.15 matches FY25 exactly, as the company confirms in Note 6 to the standalone results.
Classification
Irregular Payer
Not a consistent payer — the record shows at least one skipped year and one two-thirds cut inside the last five years. Not a cyclical payer either, since the swings do not track the agrochemical cycle in any reliable way.
The two consecutive years at ₹0.15 are the closest thing to stability in the record. Whether that hardens into a floor is something only future years will answer.
Financial Performance Analysis
Consolidated FY26 vs FY25 (₹ Crore)
| Particulars | FY 2025-26 | FY 2024-25 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Revenue from Operations | 535.94 | 440.47 | +21.7% |
| Other Income | 2.36 | 9.28 | -74.5% |
| Cost of Materials Consumed | 339.96 | 279.01 | +21.8% |
| Employee Benefits Expense | 49.46 | 40.68 | +21.6% |
| Other Expenses | 94.15 | 84.71 | +11.1% |
| EBITDA (computed) | 57.14 | 36.95 | +54.6% |
| Depreciation & Amortisation | 20.93 | 13.86 | +51.0% |
| Finance Costs | 17.46 | 7.11 | +145.5% |
| Profit Before Tax | 21.11 | 25.25 | -16.4% |
| Total Tax Expense | 2.93 | 11.39 | -74.2% |
| Profit After Tax | 18.17 | 13.86 | +31.1% |
| Basic EPS | ₹1.40 | ₹1.14 | +22.8% |
EBITDA computed as PBT + finance costs + depreciation − other income. All other figures as reported in the audited results.
Operating Leverage: The 31% Profit Growth Is Not What It Looks Like
Headlines will say net profit rose 31.1%. That is true, and it is also misleading. Walk down the P&L and the picture changes at every line.
Revenue: +21.7%
Genuine volume-led growth. The Bheema plant contributing a full year clearly helped.
EBITDA: +54.6%
Operating leverage worked. EBITDA margin improved from 8.39% to 10.66% — a genuine 227 basis point expansion. Raw material cost held steady at ~63.4% of revenue.
PBT: −16.4%
The operating gain was entirely swallowed. Depreciation added ₹7.07 crore of new cost and finance charges added ₹10.35 crore. Together, ₹17.42 crore of incremental fixed charges wiped out ₹20.19 crore of EBITDA gain, and a ₹6.92 crore drop in other income did the rest.
PAT: +31.1%
Driven almost entirely by tax. The tax charge fell from ₹11.39 crore to ₹2.93 crore — a 74.2% reduction, helped by a deferred tax credit of ₹1.96 crore and a ₹0.27 crore earlier-year reversal. The effective tax rate collapsed from 45.1% to 13.9%.
The takeaway: strip out the tax line and FY26 was a year in which the company grew revenue strongly, improved operating margins meaningfully, and still earned less before tax than the year before — because the cost of the new plant arrived on the P&L before the revenue from it did. That is a normal pattern for a company mid-expansion. It is not a normal pattern for a company that should be prioritising dividends.
Standalone vs Consolidated — The Divergence Is Important
The parent company on its own looks healthier than the group. Standalone PAT was ₹26.24 crore against consolidated PAT of ₹18.17 crore. Consolidated profit is lower than standalone, which means the wholly owned subsidiary, Bheema Fine Chemicals Private Limited, ran a loss of roughly ₹8.07 crore for the year on a consolidated basis.
Standalone results also show revenue up 19.5% to ₹521.22 crore but PBT down 24.6% to ₹30.17 crore, largely because standalone other income fell from ₹20.47 crore to ₹5.70 crore — the parent stopped earning interest on the ₹333.74 crore loan it had extended to the subsidiary, having converted that loan into equity during the year.
Q4 was the bright spot. Consolidated Q4 revenue rose 28.9% year-on-year to ₹158.10 crore and Q4 PBT more than doubled from ₹2.25 crore to ₹4.81 crore. If that momentum holds, the depreciation and interest drag becomes far more digestible in FY27.
Cash Flow Analysis
Consolidated Cash Flow (₹ Crore)
| Particulars | FY 2025-26 | FY 2024-25 |
|---|---|---|
| Operating profit before working capital changes | 49.05 | 35.00 |
| Working capital absorption | (29.41) | (80.58) |
| Cash generated from operations | 19.64 | (45.58) |
| Net Operating Cash Flow (OCF) | 12.01 | (52.80) |
| Capital expenditure | (160.14) | (252.28) |
| Free Cash Flow (OCF − capex) | (148.13) | (305.08) |
| Net borrowings raised | 146.64 | 23.03 |
| Dividend paid | (1.95) | (1.24) |
| Net change in cash | (11.88) | 18.30 |
Profit vs Cash: The Conversion Gap
Consolidated net profit was ₹18.17 crore. Consolidated operating cash flow was ₹12.01 crore. The OCF-to-PAT conversion ratio is 0.66x — for every rupee of reported profit, only about 66 paise arrived as operating cash.
That said, this is a sharp improvement. In FY25 the group generated negative ₹52.80 crore of operating cash against a reported profit of ₹13.86 crore. Working capital absorption narrowed from ₹80.58 crore to ₹29.41 crore. The direction is right; the level is still not comfortable.
On the parent alone the picture is healthier: standalone OCF of ₹35.78 crore against standalone PAT of ₹26.24 crore, a conversion of 1.36x. The cash strain sits in the subsidiary.
Receivables vs Revenue — Flag This
Consolidated trade receivables stand at ₹204.68 crore, up 17.7% from ₹173.86 crore. Revenue grew faster at 21.7%, so receivables did not outpace sales — a technical positive.
But look at the absolute level. Receivables equal 38.2% of annual revenue, which translates to roughly 139 days of sales outstanding (down marginally from 144 days). More than a third of a year's billings are sitting uncollected on the balance sheet.
In agrochemicals, extended credit to distributors ahead of the Kharif and Rabi seasons is normal. But at 139 days, the working capital cycle is the single largest reason profit is not converting into cash, and it is the number to watch every quarter.
How Is This Dividend Actually Funded?
The ₹1.95 crore cheque is small enough that it will be written without difficulty. But the honest accounting of where the money comes from is worth stating plainly.
Current earnings? Partly yes.
Consolidated PAT of ₹18.17 crore comfortably exceeds ₹1.95 crore. On an accounting basis the dividend is covered 9.33 times by earnings.
Cash reserves? Barely available.
Consolidated cash and bank balances total ₹18.92 crore — 9.7x the dividend, but also less than 8% of gross borrowings.
Free cash flow? No.
Group FCF was negative ₹148.13 crore. There is no free cash from which to pay anything. FCF coverage of the dividend is negative.
Borrowings? Effectively, yes.
The group raised ₹146.64 crore of net new debt in FY26. In a year where every rupee of investment was debt-funded, any cash paid out as dividend is a rupee that had to be replaced by borrowing.
To be fair on scale: ₹1.95 crore is 1.3% of the year's incremental borrowing. Nobody is levering up the balance sheet to pay this dividend. But investors should be clear that the group is not currently self-funding, and that a token payout from a cash-consuming entity is a signalling decision rather than a distribution of surplus.
Balance Sheet Strength
Consolidated Balance Sheet Position (₹ Crore)
| Particulars | 31-Mar-2026 | 31-Mar-2025 | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Property, Plant & Equipment | 573.94 | 238.16 | +141.0% |
| Capital Work in Progress | 94.22 | 287.81 | -67.3% |
| Inventories | 145.75 | 129.71 | +12.4% |
| Trade Receivables | 204.68 | 173.86 | +17.7% |
| Cash & Bank Balances | 18.92 | 29.78 | -36.5% |
| Total Assets | 1,120.19 | 933.15 | +20.0% |
| Total Equity | 698.32 | 682.22 | +2.4% |
| Long-term Borrowings | 153.14 | 30.05 | +409.6% |
| Short-term Borrowings | 77.92 | 54.40 | +43.2% |
| Gross Borrowings | 231.05 | 84.45 | +173.6% |
| Net Debt (borrowings − cash) | 212.13 | 54.67 | +288.0% |
Ratios (Computed)
| Gross Debt / Equity | 0.33x |
| Net Debt / Equity | 0.30x |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | 3.71x |
| Interest Coverage (EBIT / finance cost) | 2.21x |
| Interest Coverage FY25 | 4.55x |
| Return on Equity (consolidated) | 2.63% |
| Return on Equity (standalone) | 3.69% |
| Return on Capital Employed (consolidated) | 4.53% |
| Cash Coverage of Dividend | 9.7x |
ROE and ROCE computed on average balances. EBITDA and EBIT computed from reported line items.
Reading the Balance Sheet
The single biggest movement is the transfer of ₹193.59 crore out of Capital Work in Progress and the addition of ₹335.78 crore to Property, Plant & Equipment. In plain terms, the Bheema Fine Chemicals plant at Kadechur, Karnataka has been substantially capitalised. That is exactly why depreciation jumped 51% and why finance costs jumped 145% — once an asset is commissioned, interest can no longer be capitalised into it and starts hitting the P&L.
Leverage is still moderate in absolute terms. Net debt to equity of 0.30x is not alarming for a chemicals manufacturer. But the trajectory matters: net debt nearly quadrupled in one year, and interest coverage more than halved from 4.55x to 2.21x. Net debt to EBITDA of 3.71x is at the upper end of what most lenders consider comfortable.
Returns are the weak spot. ROE of 2.63% and ROCE of 4.53% are below what a fixed deposit currently offers. The company has ₹698 crore of shareholder equity generating ₹18 crore of profit. Whether the new capacity fixes that ratio is the whole investment question.
Dividend Sustainability Analysis
Test 1 — Can the company afford it?
Yes, comfortably. Cash and bank balances of ₹18.92 crore cover the ₹1.95 crore dividend 9.7 times. Even after the payout, the company retains roughly ₹17 crore of liquidity. There is no affordability question at this size.
Verdict: Pass
Test 2 — Is it covered by free cash flow?
No. Consolidated FCF was negative ₹148.13 crore. On the parent alone, standalone FCF was positive ₹22.65 crore (OCF ₹35.78 crore less capex ₹13.13 crore), giving standalone FCF coverage of 11.6x. Since dividends are legally paid out of the standalone entity's profits, this matters — but the group as a whole is still cash-negative.
Verdict: Mixed — pass on standalone, fail on consolidated
Test 3 — Is debt rising while dividends are paid?
Yes, sharply. Gross borrowings rose from ₹84.45 crore to ₹231.05 crore. Net debt rose 288%. Interest coverage fell from 4.55x to 2.21x. This is the clearest negative in the analysis.
Verdict: Fail
Test 4 — Is the earnings trend supportive?
Mixed. Reported consolidated PAT rose 31.1%, but pre-tax profit fell 16.4% and the improvement came from a tax rate that dropped from 45.1% to 13.9% — not repeatable at that magnitude. Offsetting this, EBITDA rose 54.6% with margins up 227 basis points, and Q4 PBT more than doubled.
Verdict: Mixed — operating trend improving, bottom-line quality weak
Overall Classification
Sustainable — at this size only
At ₹1.95 crore and a 10.70% payout ratio, this dividend is small enough that it can be maintained through almost any plausible scenario short of an outright loss. Earnings cover it 9.33 times. Cash covers it 9.7 times. It survives the sustainability test on sheer smallness.
The important qualification: sustainable is not the same as scalable. A company with negative group free cash flow, net debt up 288% in a year, ROE of 2.63% and interest coverage of 2.21x is in no position to meaningfully increase its distribution. Investors should read this as a floor being defended, not a payout that will grow. Any meaningful dividend growth would first require the Bheema plant to reach commercial utilisation and the group to turn free-cash-flow positive.
Peer Comparison
Indian Agrochemical Peers — Dividend and Return Profile
| Company | Recent DPS | Indicative Yield | Payout Ratio |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bhagiradha Chemicals | ₹0.15 | 0.05% | 10.70% |
| Dhanuka Agritech | ₹8.49 (FY26 est.) | ~0.78% | ~13.9% |
| Rallis India | ₹2.50 | ~0.9% | ~18% (fwd est.) |
| Indian chemicals sector average | — | ~0.7% | — |
| Indian market — top quartile payers | — | ~1.35% | — |
Peer dividend, yield and payout figures are indicative and sourced from Simply Wall St, MarketScreener and INDmoney as of mid-2026; they are not drawn from company filings and should be independently verified before use in any decision. Peer ROE, ROCE and cash position on a like-for-like FY26 audited basis: Not Independently Verified.
What the Comparison Tells You
BHAGCHEM's yield of 0.05% sits at roughly one-fourteenth of the Indian chemicals sector average of around 0.7%, and well below both listed peers shown. Even the bottom quartile of Indian dividend payers yields around 0.29% — roughly six times what BHAGCHEM offers.
The payout ratio tells a different and more sympathetic story. At 10.70%, BHAGCHEM's payout is not dramatically below Dhanuka's ~14%. The yield gap is driven far more by valuation and by the small earnings base than by stinginess in the distribution policy. A company trading at roughly 206x trailing consolidated earnings will produce a microscopic yield at almost any sensible payout ratio.
The structural difference: Dhanuka Agritech is described by data providers as almost debt-free with a low cash payout ratio; BHAGCHEM is mid-expansion with net debt up 288% and negative group free cash flow. Two companies in the same industry, at completely different points in the capital cycle. That, more than dividend policy, is what separates them.
Promoter Impact Analysis
Shareholding Pattern (March 2026)
| Promoters | 19.60% |
| Domestic Institutions (DII) | 3.02% |
| Foreign Institutions (FII) | 0.14% |
| Public / Retail & Others | 77.24% |
Source: public shareholding data as reported by Screener, Groww and Bajaj Broking for the quarter ended March 2026. Promoter holding was unchanged from December 2025.
Dividend Distribution by Category
| Total Dividend Outflow | ₹1.95 Cr |
| To Promoters (19.60%) | ₹0.38 Cr |
| To DIIs (3.02%) | ₹0.06 Cr |
| To FIIs (0.14%) | ₹0.003 Cr |
| To Public / Retail (77.24%) | ₹1.50 Cr |
Computed as shareholding percentage × total dividend outflow. Figures rounded.
Who Actually Benefits
This is an unusual case in the Indian small-cap universe: the overwhelming majority of the dividend flows to the public. With promoters holding only 19.60%, roughly ₹1.50 crore of the ₹1.95 crore — about 77 paise in every rupee — goes to non-promoter shareholders.
Promoter dividend income of approximately ₹38 lakh across the entire promoter group is not a number that would motivate a dividend decision. There is no reasonable case here that the payout is structured to extract cash for the promoter family. If anything, the low promoter stake means the board has less personal incentive to pay dividends at all, which makes the decision to hold the payout flat read as a shareholder-signalling choice rather than a self-interested one.
The flip side worth noting: a 19.60% promoter holding is low by Indian small-cap standards, where 50-75% is common. Low promoter skin in the game is a governance consideration independent of the dividend, and one investors should form their own view on.
Taxation Analysis
How Dividends Are Taxed in India
Since April 1, 2020, the Dividend Distribution Tax paid by companies was abolished. Dividends are now taxed entirely in the hands of the shareholder.
- Taxable at your slab rate. Dividend income is added to "Income from Other Sources" and taxed at whatever marginal rate applies to you — 0%, 5%, 20% or 30%, plus applicable surcharge and 4% health and education cess.
- TDS under Section 194. The company deducts tax at source at 10% where total dividend paid to a resident individual by that company exceeds ₹10,000 in a financial year. Below that threshold, no TDS is deducted — but the income remains fully taxable.
- No PAN, higher TDS. If PAN is not furnished or is inoperative, TDS is deducted at 20%.
- Forms 15G / 15H. Resident individuals whose total income is below the taxable limit may submit Form 15G (under 60) or Form 15H (60 and above) to the company or its registrar to avoid TDS.
- TDS is not the final tax. It is a credit against your total liability. If your slab rate is 30%, you owe more than the 10% deducted and must pay the balance as self-assessment or advance tax.
- Non-residents. TDS is generally deducted at 20% plus surcharge and cess, subject to relief under an applicable Double Taxation Avoidance Agreement.
Worked Example — Generic (₹10 per share)
Investor holds 1,000 shares, dividend ₹10 per share, tax slab 30%.
| Gross Dividend (1,000 × ₹10) | ₹10,000 |
| TDS under Section 194 | ₹0 |
| Cash credited to bank | ₹10,000 |
| Tax at 30% slab | ₹3,000 |
| Health & Education Cess at 4% | ₹120 |
| Total Tax Payable | ₹3,120 |
| Net Dividend Retained | ₹6,880 |
TDS is nil here because ₹10,000 does not exceed the ₹10,000 threshold. The full ₹3,120 must be discharged by the investor directly.
Worked Example — Actual BHAGCHEM Dividend
Investor holds 1,000 shares, dividend ₹0.15 per share, tax slab 30%.
| Gross Dividend (1,000 × ₹0.15) | ₹150 |
| TDS under Section 194 | ₹0 |
| Tax at 30% + 4% cess | ₹46.80 |
| Net Dividend Retained | ₹103.20 |
| Cost of 1,000 shares at ₹289.10 | ₹2,89,100 |
| Pre-tax effective yield | 0.05% |
| Post-tax effective yield | 0.04% |
To cross the ₹10,000 TDS threshold on this dividend, an investor would need to hold more than 66,667 shares, costing roughly ₹1.93 crore at current prices.
Tax rules described here reflect the position for resident individual shareholders under the Income Tax Act, 1961 as generally applicable for FY 2025-26 and FY 2026-27. Rates, thresholds and surcharge slabs change with each Finance Act, and your personal position depends on your total income, chosen tax regime and residential status. This is general information, not tax advice — please consult a qualified chartered accountant or tax professional for your own situation.
Key Risks
1. Leverage and Interest Burden
Gross borrowings rose 173.6% to ₹231.05 crore and finance costs rose 145.5% to ₹17.46 crore. Interest coverage fell from 4.55x to 2.21x. Net debt to EBITDA of 3.71x leaves limited headroom. Any rate increase or delay in the subsidiary's ramp-up puts direct pressure on profitability.
2. Subsidiary Execution Risk
The gap between standalone PAT of ₹26.24 crore and consolidated PAT of ₹18.17 crore implies Bheema Fine Chemicals lost roughly ₹8.07 crore in FY26. The parent has invested ₹367.53 crore into the subsidiary during the year. If the Kadechur plant does not reach planned utilisation, that capital earns nothing while its depreciation and interest continue.
3. Working Capital Intensity
Receivables of ₹204.68 crore represent 139 days of sales. Combined with inventory of ₹145.75 crore, over ₹350 crore is locked in working capital against equity of ₹698 crore. Any distributor default or credit-cycle stretch in the agrochemical channel translates directly into borrowing need.
4. Single-Segment Concentration
The company reports one reportable segment: Crop Protection Chemicals, under Ind-AS 108. There is no diversification cushion. Agrochemical demand is tied to monsoon quality, crop acreage, farm-gate prices and global generic pricing — all outside management's control. Chinese generic supply pressure has been a persistent headwind for Indian technical manufacturers.
5. Return on Capital Well Below Cost of Capital
Consolidated ROE of 2.63% and ROCE of 4.53% sit below the company's own borrowing cost. Until the expanded asset base generates returns above the cost of debt, every additional rupee of leveraged capex destroys rather than creates value for equity holders.
6. Earnings Quality and Valuation
FY26 profit growth of 31.1% came from an effective tax rate falling from 45.1% to 13.9%, not from operations — pre-tax profit actually fell 16.4%. At roughly 206x trailing consolidated earnings, the share price embeds substantial expectations about the Bheema ramp-up. Disappointment on that ramp-up has a long way to be re-rated.
7. Approval and Timing Risk on the Dividend Itself
The dividend is recommended, not declared. It requires shareholder approval at the AGM on 31-07-2026. The company has also not committed to a payment date, stating only that payment will occur within legally prescribed timelines. Shareholders should not treat the ₹0.15 as received until the AGM vote passes and credit appears.
8. Regulatory and Compliance Environment
The four new labour codes notified on November 21, 2025 have been assessed by the company as not materially impactful based on internal assessment, but the company itself notes it continues to monitor finalisation of Central and State Rules. Pesticide manufacturing also carries ongoing environmental clearance, effluent handling and product registration obligations across multiple jurisdictions.
What To Monitor
1. Bheema Fine Chemicals Capacity Utilisation
The Kadechur plant is cleared for 9,002 MTPA versus the parent's Ongole capacity of 3,250 MTPA. Watch quarterly commentary for actual utilisation percentages. The gap between standalone and consolidated PAT each quarter is the cleanest available proxy for whether the subsidiary is moving toward breakeven.
2. Operating Cash Flow Conversion
Consolidated OCF-to-PAT was 0.66x in FY26, up from deeply negative in FY25. Watch whether FY27 pushes this above 1.0x. Sustained conversion above 1.0x would be the first real evidence that the group can fund itself.
3. Days Sales Outstanding
Currently 139 days, marginally improved from 144 days. Track receivables as a percentage of trailing twelve-month revenue each quarter. A move below 120 days would materially change the free cash flow picture; a move above 150 days would signal channel stress.
4. Peak Debt and the Deleveraging Path
Net debt is ₹212.13 crore. With CWIP down to ₹94.22 crore, the bulk of the capex programme appears complete. Watch whether FY27 shows net debt flattening and then declining. Also watch finance costs, which will annualise at a higher run-rate than the reported ₹17.46 crore since the plant was capitalised mid-year.
5. EBITDA Margin Trajectory
Consolidated EBITDA margin expanded from 8.39% to 10.66%. Given raw materials are ~63.4% of revenue, margin direction is highly sensitive to intermediate pricing. Watch whether the Q4 momentum — revenue up 28.9% year-on-year with PBT more than doubling — carries into FY27 quarters.
6. Effective Tax Rate Normalisation
FY26's 13.9% effective tax rate is well below the concessional 22% regime the company has elected. Deferred tax credits are not repeatable. Model FY27 profit on a normalised rate closer to 25% including surcharge and cess, and see whether the underlying business still shows growth on that basis.
7. Promoter Holding and Institutional Flows
Promoter holding has been stable at 19.60% from December 2025 to March 2026. FII holding is negligible at 0.14% and DII at 3.02%. Any pledging, further dilution, or a meaningful step-up in institutional participation would each carry information about how the market views the expansion.
8. Next Year's Dividend Decision
Two consecutive years at ₹0.15 is the first sign of consistency in a historically irregular record. A third consecutive year at or above ₹0.15 would establish a genuine floor. A cut back toward the ₹0.10 level seen in FY24 would confirm the payout is discretionary and cash-cycle dependent.
Conclusion
The Balanced View
Bhagiradha Chemicals has held its final dividend at ₹0.15 per share for a second consecutive year, distributing ₹1.95 crore to shareholders — a payout ratio of 10.70% and a yield of about 0.05%. On dividend metrics alone, this barely registers.
The more interesting story sits underneath. FY26 was the year the Bheema Fine Chemicals plant landed on the balance sheet: PPE more than doubled to ₹573.94 crore, depreciation rose 51%, finance costs rose 145.5%, and consolidated pre-tax profit fell 16.4% even as revenue grew 21.7% and EBITDA grew 54.6%. The reported 31.1% net profit growth was manufactured almost entirely by an effective tax rate that fell from 45.1% to 13.9%.
Positives
- Revenue growth of 21.7% with EBITDA margin expansion of 227 basis points to 10.66%.
- Operating cash flow turned positive at ₹12.01 crore from negative ₹52.80 crore.
- Working capital absorption narrowed sharply from ₹80.58 crore to ₹29.41 crore.
- Q4 was the strongest quarter — revenue up 28.9%, PBT more than doubled.
- Dividend covered 9.33x by earnings and 9.7x by cash — no affordability concern.
- Clean, unmodified audit opinion on both standalone and consolidated results.
- Capex programme appears near completion, with CWIP down 67.3%.
- 77 paise in every rupee of dividend flows to public shareholders, not promoters.
Negatives
- Net debt up 288% to ₹212.13 crore in a single year.
- Interest coverage halved from 4.55x to 2.21x.
- Consolidated free cash flow of negative ₹148.13 crore.
- Pre-tax profit down 16.4% — profit growth is a tax-line story.
- ROE of 2.63% and ROCE of 4.53%, both below borrowing cost.
- Subsidiary appears loss-making by roughly ₹8.07 crore.
- Receivables at 139 days of sales; over ₹350 crore locked in working capital.
- Trailing P/E of approximately 206x on consolidated earnings.
- Payment date Not Disclosed by Company; dividend still subject to AGM approval.
Anyone evaluating BHAGCHEM should be clear about what this dividend is and is not. It is not income — at ₹0.15 per share, it will not move a portfolio. What it is, arguably, is a signal: a board choosing to maintain continuity of distribution through the most capital-intensive year in the company's history. Whether that signal is meaningful depends entirely on whether the ₹367.53 crore invested in Bheema Fine Chemicals starts producing returns. That question will be answered in FY27 operating numbers, not in the dividend line.
The positives, negatives, risks and monitoring factors above are laid out so readers can weigh them against their own objectives, time horizon and risk tolerance.
Frequently Asked Questions
What dividend has Bhagiradha Chemicals announced for FY 2025-26?
What is the dividend yield on BHAGCHEM?
What is the record date for the Bhagiradha Chemicals dividend?
What is the ex-dividend date for BHAGCHEM?
When will the dividend actually be paid?
Who is eligible to receive this dividend?
How is this dividend taxed in my hands?
Is the Bhagiradha Chemicals dividend sustainable?
What is the dividend history of Bhagiradha Chemicals?
Why did net profit grow 31% when pre-tax profit fell?
How much of this dividend goes to promoters?
What should investors monitor after this dividend announcement?
Disclaimer
This article is published by ShareBazaar Online for informational and educational purposes only. It does not constitute investment advice, a recommendation, or a solicitation to buy, sell or hold any security. ShareBazaar Online is not a SEBI-registered investment adviser or research analyst.
All company-specific dividend, financial and date information is sourced from Bhagiradha Chemicals & Industries Limited's board meeting outcome intimation and audited financial results for the quarter and year ended March 31, 2026, filed with BSE Limited (Scrip Code: 531719) and the National Stock Exchange of India Limited (Symbol: BHAGCHEM) on May 19, 2026. Market prices, shareholding data, peer comparisons and historical dividend records are sourced from publicly available third-party market data providers and are indicated as such in the relevant sections; these have not been independently audited and may contain errors or be out of date.
All ratios, yields, coverage figures and growth percentages described as computed have been derived by ShareBazaar Online from the audited figures and cited market data using the formulas stated in the article. Where a figure was unavailable, we have stated "Not Disclosed by Company" or "Not Independently Verified" rather than estimating.
The recommended dividend of ₹0.15 per share is subject to shareholder approval at the 33rd Annual General Meeting scheduled for July 31, 2026, and may be modified or withheld. Share prices fluctuate and past dividend behaviour is not a reliable indicator of future distributions. Taxation of dividends depends on your individual circumstances, chosen tax regime and residential status, and tax law changes with each Finance Act.
Readers should conduct their own due diligence and consult a SEBI-registered investment adviser and a qualified tax professional before making any investment or tax decision. ShareBazaar Online and its authors accept no liability for any loss arising from reliance on this content.
