Official Analyst Scorecard

Axis Direct Review 2026: Brokerage Charges, Trading Platforms, MTF & Complete Broker Analysis

Trade with Confidence

Open Demat Account
Axis Securities
Full-Service Stock Broker (Bank-backed 3-in-1 Broker)
3.8/ 5.0
SEBI Registered Broker Portfolio Exchange Core Member (NSE, BSE, MCX)

Complete Broker Specifications

Granular structural mapping data for Axis Securities.

Platform

web trading platform
Swift Trade (browser-based, HTML5) and the AxisDirect.in web trading portal
call and trade services
Available — "Trade on Phone"; first 20 calls/month free (Resident), ₹20 per call thereafter; first 5 calls/month free (NRI), ₹20 per call thereafter
mobile trading platform
Axis Direct App (Investor App for long-term investors; Trader App for active traders) with TradingView-powered charts

Basic Details

ratings
3.8 / 5 (ShareBazaar Online Editorial Rating)
categories
Full-Service Stock Broker (Bank-backed 3-in-1 Broker)
number of active users
~3.98 Lakh active clients (NSE active-client data, mid-2025); broker separately markets a wider base of 5 million+ registered customers across its banking-linked ecosystem

Services Offered

insurance
Yes — Life, Health & General insurance distribution
ipo platform
Yes — Online ASBA-based IPO applications (up to 3 applications per IPO)
mutual funds
Yes — Direct & Regular plans, SIP/SWP, zero brokerage on Direct plans
nri services
Yes — 4-in-1 NRI account (PIS/Non-PIS Bank + Demat + Trading); onboarding currently completed offline/via Relationship Manager, not fully online
bonds and debt
Yes — NCDs, Government/RBI Retail Direct bonds, Sovereign Gold Bonds
customer support
Phone: 022-61480808 / 022-40508080; Toll-free: 1800-210-0808; Email: helpdesk@axisdirect.in; Live chat; 75+ branch network; dedicated RM for NRI/premium clients
three in one account
Yes — integrated Axis Bank Savings + Demat + Trading account
etf exchange traded funds
Yes
mtf margin trading facility
Yes — branded "Pay Later"; up to ~4X leverage on 750+ eligible stocks

Brokerage Charges

mtf interest
As low as 10.99% p.a. (promotional rate, varies by plan); official policy document cites a standing rate of 18% p.a. on funded debit — confirm current applicable slab before trading
mtf brokerage
Charged at the client's regular segment brokerage rate on the funded ("Pay Later") leg; no separate published MTF order-brokerage slab
delayed payment charges
18% p.a. on ledger debit balances (per official Rights & Obligations document; also referred to as "delayed payment charge")
intraday for individuals
0.05% per leg (Fixed Brokerage Plan), subject to min. ₹25 per executed order
option trades for individuals
₹20 per executed order (flat, current standard rate)
futures trades for individuals
0.05% per leg (Fixed Brokerage Plan)
equity delivery for individuals
0.50% per leg (Fixed Brokerage Plan), subject to min. ₹25 per executed order; lower slabs (down to ~0.01%-0.25%) available under select upfront-fee subscription plans
intraday for nri and non individuals
Not Available — NRIs are currently not permitted to trade equity intraday (cash intraday) as per regulatory/broker policy
futures trades for nri and non individuals
0.05% per leg
options trades for nri and non individuals
₹100 per lot (carry-forward); intraday options rate Not Disclosed by Broker
equity delivery for nri and non individuals
0.75% (PIS route) / 0.60% (Non-PIS route) per executed order
other brokerage charges for call and trade charges
₹20 per call beyond free monthly quota, in addition to applicable plan brokerage on the trade executed

Account Opening

nri account opening fee
₹2,500 one-time (account opening + stamp duty for trading account); promotional pricing has offered reduced rates (e.g., ₹1,000) from time to time
individual account opening fee
Nil (Free) on the standard Fixed Brokerage Plan; optional premium subscription plans (where offered) carry a one-time upfront fee + 18% GST
non individual account opening fee
Not Disclosed by Broker

Government & Transaction Charges

stt ctt
Equity Delivery: 0.1% (buy & sell); Intraday: 0.025% (sell side); Futures: 0.05% (sell side, w.e.f. 1-Apr-2026); Options: 0.15% on premium (sell side) / 0.15% on intrinsic value (if exercised), w.e.f. 1-Apr-2026
sebi charges
₹10 per crore (0.0001%) of turnover — uniform SEBI turnover fee for all brokers
stamp duty charges
Delivery: 0.015% (buy side); Intraday: 0.003% (buy side); Futures: 0.002% (buy side); Options: 0.003% (buy side) — uniform state-mandated rates for all brokers
transaction charges
NSE: ≈0.00307% (Equity Delivery & Intraday), ≈0.00183% (Futures), ≈0.0355% (Options, on premium); BSE: ≈0.00375% (Equity), rates vary by scrip group — uniform for all brokers, revised periodically by exchanges
investors protection fund trust ipft nse
≈ ₹10 per crore on Equity & Futures turnover; ≈ ₹50 per crore on Options turnover (included within exchange transaction charges; uniform for all brokers)
eighteen percent gst on brokerage and related charges
18% GST applicable on Brokerage + Exchange Transaction Charges + SEBI Charges + IPFT — uniform for all brokers, per Government of India GST rules

DP & Transaction Charges

Not Available

Order Types Supported

limit order
Available
market order
Available
basket orders
Available (curated stock baskets / multi-leg option-strategy baskets)
cover order co
Available
hidden charges
Call & Trade charges beyond free quota; DP debit/pledge charges; AMC from Year 2; MTF/delayed-payment interest — see Hidden Charges Analysis in full review
iceberg orders
Not Disclosed by Broker
validity order
Available — Day, IOC, Good-Till-Date (GTDt), After Market Order (AMO)
alerts validity
Not Disclosed by Broker
external pledge
Available (Margin Pledge of existing demat holdings as collateral via CDSL/NSDL)
internal pledge
Available (mandatory pledge of MTF/"Pay Later" purchased shares in broker's favour)
bracket order bo
Not Available
no of watchlists
Multiple/customisable watchlists — exact cap Not Disclosed by Broker
disclosed quantity
Available (standard exchange-enabled facility for large orders)
stop loss sl limit
Available
trailing stop loss
Not Available
oco one cancels other
Not Available
stop loss market sl m
Available
good till cancelled gtc
Available (also offered as Good-Till-Date / GTDt)
gtt good till triggered
Not offered as a distinct exchange-trigger feature; broker instead offers GTC/GTDt validity orders

About Axis Securities (Axis Direct)

Axis Securities Limited, operating under the brand name Axis Direct, is the broking and wealth- distribution arm of Axis Bank, one of India's largest private sector banks. Headquartered at Axis House, Wadia International Centre, Worli, Mumbai, the firm has grown into one of the country's most recognised full-service stockbrokers, anchored by the trust and balance-sheet strength of its banking parent. Axis Direct holds a single SEBI registration (INZ000161633) that covers membership across NSE, BSE, MSEI, MCX and NCDEX, and is also a registered Depository Participant with both CDSL and NSDL under registration number IN-DP-403-2019. This gives Axis Direct clients access to equity cash, derivatives, currency and commodity segments, alongside Demat custody, under a single regulatory umbrella. What differentiates Axis Direct from pure discount brokers is its signature 3-in-1 account — a tightly integrated Savings (Axis Bank) + Demat + Trading account that lets funds move instantly between banking and investing without manual transfers. Beyond stock trading, Axis Direct distributes mutual funds, IPOs, NCDs, Sovereign Gold Bonds, insurance and fixed deposits, and runs an in-house research desk that publishes daily, weekly and event-based stock ideas. NSE active-client data places Axis Direct at roughly 3.98 lakh active trading clients, while the broker separately promotes a much larger figure (5 million+) referring to its total registered customer base across the broader Axis banking ecosystem — a distinction worth keeping in mind when comparing "user numbers" across brokers

Compliance & Registration Details
SEBI Registration INZ000161633
Depository CDSL & NSDL
Active Clients ~3.98 Lakh
Parent Entity Axis Bank Limited

Why Choose Axis Direct

For investors who value the comfort of banking-grade trust over the lowest possible brokerage, Axis Direct makes a fairly compelling case, for several distinct reasons.

  • Seamless 3-in-1 integration: because the trading account sits on top of an existing Axis Bank relationship, settlement of funds is near-instantaneous, idle cash continues to earn savings-account interest, and there is no separate "add funds" friction.
  • Purpose-built platforms: Axis Direct splits its mobile experience into an Investor App (for long-term, SIP-style investors) and a Trader App (built for active intraday and F&O traders).
  • TradingView-powered charting: both the web and mobile platforms are powered by TradingView's charting engine — a meaningful upgrade over many in-house charting libraries.
  • Genuine research depth: daily technical and fundamental calls, curated stock baskets, and sector themes from an in-house analyst desk, available at no extra cost.
  • Wide product shelf under one login: equities, F&O, currency derivatives, mutual funds, IPOs (via ASBA), Sovereign Gold Bonds, NCDs and insurance, alongside a Margin Trading Facility ("Pay Later").

Key Features of Axis Direct

  • 3-in-1 Account — one login for Savings, Demat and Trading
  • Two purpose-built mobile apps: Investor App and Trader App
  • Web (Swift Trade) and installable desktop (DirectTrade) platforms
  • TradingView-powered charts with 50+ technical indicators
  • In-house research: daily calls, curated baskets, sector themes
  • Margin Trading Facility ("Pay Later") — up to ~4X leverage on 750+ eligible stocks
  • Online ASBA-based IPO applications
  • 75+ branch network with dedicated Relationship Manager support
  • Dedicated NRI investment account
  • Free Demat AMC in the first year for Axis Bank account holders

Trading Platform Review

Mobile App Review

Axis Direct splits its mobile experience into two purpose-built apps rather than one do-everything app. The Investor App is aimed at long-term, goal-based investors. The Trader App is built for active intraday and derivatives traders. Both apps are available on Android and iOS.

Web Platform Review

Swift Trade is Axis Direct's HTML5-based, browser-only web terminal — no installation required, and accessible from any desktop, laptop or tablet. It supports live streaming quotes, multiple customisable watchlists, Good-Till-Date (GTDt) orders, and real-time index tracking (Nifty, Sensex).

Charting Features

Charting across the Trader App and web platform includes 50+ technical indicators, multiple timeframes, drawing tools, and the ability to place buy/sell orders directly from the chart.

TradingView Integration

Axis Direct has partnered with TradingView for its charting technology, giving users access to TradingView's global charting library, screeners, the Pine Script editor for custom indicators, and price-alert tools.

Brokerage Charges Analysis

Item Charge
Individual Trading + Demat Account OpeningNil
NRI Account Opening₹2,500 one-time (promotional periods have offered reduced pricing)
Demat AMC — Axis Bank customersNil (Year 1), ₹750/year (Year 2 onward)
Equity Delivery0.50% per leg (min ₹25)
Equity Intraday0.05% per leg (min ₹25)
Equity Options₹20 per executed order (flat)

Margin Trading Facility (MTF) Review — "Pay Later"

Axis Direct markets its Margin Trading Facility under the name "Pay Later." The facility lets investors buy eligible shares by paying only a portion of the trade value upfront — typically around 20% or more, depending on the stock — while Axis Direct funds the remaining amount, offering leverage of up to roughly 4X on select stocks. More than 750 stocks are reported to be eligible for the facility.

On pricing, promotional marketing cites rates as low as 10.99% per annum, while Axis Direct's own official document states that interest is charged at 18% per annum on ledger debits. Confirm your specific applicable rate before using the facility.

DP & Other Transaction Charges

Charge Head Regular Account BSDA Account
Pledge / Unpledge / Invocation0.04% of value or ₹50/instruction, whichever higher0.06% of value or ₹50/instruction, whichever higher
Off-Market (Debit) Transfer0.04% of value or ₹25/instruction, whichever higher0.06% of value or ₹50/instruction, whichever higher
Demat (Physical → Electronic)₹100 per certificateSame as regular account

Hidden Charges Analysis

Beyond the headline brokerage percentages, a number of smaller charges can add up over time if not tracked carefully. This section flags the ones investors most commonly overlook.

  • DP Charges — Every sell/off-market debit attracts 0.04% of value or ₹25 per instruction (whichever is higher) on a regular account.
  • Call & Trade Charges — Resident clients get the first 20 calls free per month, after which each call costs ₹20.
  • MTF / Delayed Payment Charges — Funded positions accrue daily interest — officially stated at 18% p.a.
  • Pledge Charges — Creating or releasing a margin pledge costs 0.04% of value or ₹50 per instruction, whichever is higher.
  • Demat AMC — Steps up from Nil (Year 1) to ₹750/year from Year 2 onward for Axis Bank customers.

Government Charges & Taxes (Applicable Across All Brokers)

Charge Rate
STT — Equity Delivery0.1% on both buy and sell
STT — Equity Intraday0.025% on sell side
STT — Futures0.05% on sell side (effective 1 April 2026)
STT — Options0.15% on premium (sell side); 0.15% on intrinsic value if exercised
NSE Transaction Charges≈0.00307% (delivery/intraday equity); ≈0.00183% (futures); ≈0.0355% (options, on premium)
SEBI Turnover Fee₹10 per crore (0.0001%) of turnover
Stamp Duty (buy side only)Delivery 0.015%; Intraday 0.003%; Futures 0.002%; Options 0.003%
GST18% on brokerage + transaction charges + SEBI fee + IPFT

Is Axis Direct Safe?

Parameter Status
SEBI RegistrationINZ000161633 (single registration, dated 22-12-2017)
NSE MembershipMember Code 14816 — Cash & Derivatives segments
BSE MembershipMember Code 3163 — Cash segment
MCX / NCDEX MembershipCovered under the same single SEBI registration
CDSL / NSDL Depository RegistrationIN-DP-403-2019 (Depository Participant for both CDSL and NSDL)
Parent CompanyAxis Bank Limited — listed, RBI-regulated scheduled commercial bank

Being a subsidiary of a large, listed, RBI-regulated bank gives Axis Direct a capital cushion and compliance culture that smaller, independent brokers may not have. Combined with its NSE/BSE/MCX/NCDEX memberships and dual-depository registration, there is no structural reason to doubt the safety of holding a Demat and trading account with Axis Direct.

Customer Support Review

Channel Details
Phone (Resident)022-61480808 / 022-40508080
Phone (NRI)022-6148 0809 / Toll-free 1800-210-0808
Emailhelpdesk@axisdirect.in (Demat queries: dphelp@axisdirect.in)
Live ChatAvailable via website and app
Branch Network75+ branches across India
Relationship ManagerDedicated RM support for NRI and premium-plan clients

Services Offered

  • 3-in-1 Account — Yes
  • Mutual Funds (Direct & Regular, SIP) — Yes
  • Insurance Distribution — Yes
  • Bonds, NCDs & Government Securities — Yes
  • IPO Platform (ASBA) — Yes
  • ETFs — Yes
  • Margin Trading Facility (MTF) — Yes — "Pay Later"
  • NRI Services (4-in-1 account) — Yes — onboarding via branch/RM

Order Types Supported

Order Type Supported
Market OrderYes
Limit OrderYes
Stop-Loss (SL-Limit)Yes
Stop-Loss Market (SL-M)Yes
Cover Order (CO)Yes
Bracket Order (BO)No
Good-Till-Cancelled (GTC) / Good-Till-Date (GTDt)Yes
GTT (Good Till Triggered)Not offered as a distinct feature
OCO (One-Cancels-Other)No
Trailing Stop-LossNo
Basket OrdersYes
Iceberg OrdersNot Disclosed by Broker
After Market Order (AMO)Yes
Disclosed QuantityYes (standard exchange facility)

Pros and Cons of Axis Direct

Pros

  • ✓ Backed by Axis Bank — strong parent-company trust and capital base
  • ✓ Genuine 3-in-1 account with instant fund movement between banking and trading
  • ✓ Two purpose-built mobile apps (Investor App + Trader App) instead of one generic app
  • ✓ TradingView-powered charting with 50+ indicators
  • ✓ In-house research and curated stock baskets included at no extra cost
  • ✓ Wide product shelf: equities, F&O, currency, mutual funds, IPOs, bonds, insurance, SGBs
  • ✓ MTF ("Pay Later") with up to ~4X leverage on 750+ stocks
  • ✓ 75+ branch network plus dedicated RMs for NRI/premium clients
  • ✓ Free Demat AMC in Year 1 for Axis Bank account holders
  • ✓ Online ASBA-based IPO applications integrated with the bank account
  • ✓ Single SEBI registration spanning NSE, BSE, MCX and NCDEX

Cons

  • ✗ Brokerage materially higher than discount brokers — 0.50% delivery vs flat/near-zero plans elsewhere
  • ✗ No Bracket Order (BO) support
  • ✗ No native GTT (Good Till Triggered) conditional order — only GTC/GTDt validity orders
  • ✗ No OCO or true Trailing Stop-Loss order types
  • ✗ Call & Trade charges apply quickly once the small free monthly quota is used
  • ✗ NRI account opening is not fully online — requires branch/Relationship Manager involvement
  • ✗ NRI accounts cannot trade equity intraday
  • ✗ AMC rises to ₹750/year from the second year onward
  • ✗ MTF/delayed-payment interest can run up to 18% p.a. per official terms — confirm before relying on lower promotional figures
  • ✗ Non-individual (corporate/HUF/partnership) account charges are not transparently published online
  • ✗ Desktop terminal positioning has historically skewed toward premium/active-trader use rather than a free-for-all tool

ShareBazaar Online Ratings Breakdown

The following is ShareBazaar Online's own editorial assessment, based on the verified facts presented throughout this review. It is an opinion-based score, not a third-party certification.

Brokerage & Charges 3.0/5.0

Moderate pricing structure; traditional full-service fees balance out flat-rate competitive alternatives.

Trading Platforms & Tech 4.0/5.0

Dependable digital ecosystem with robust analytical tools, steady uptime, and clean UI navigation.

Research & Advisory 4.2/5.0

Highly accurate, actionable market research reports alongside reliable multi-segment stock recommendations.

Customer Support 4.0/5.0

Responsive omnichannel helpdesk offering prompt ticketing resolutions and dependable customer phone access.

Safety & Regulatory Trust 4.5/5.0

Strictly compliant with active regulatory exchange parameters, highlighting maximum client asset security.

Account Opening Experience 3.5/5.0

Streamlined paperless e-KYC onboarding process, though occasional validation lags are reported.

Overall Editorial Rating 3.8/5.0

A very stable and well-rounded option for retail investors seeking robust corporate advisory backed by standard tools.

Competitor Comparison

Axis Direct vs Zerodha

Parameter Axis Direct Zerodha
Broker TypeFull-service, bank-backedDiscount broker
Pricing ModelPercentage-based (0.50% delivery, ₹20 flat options)Flat-fee / zero-brokerage delivery model
3-in-1 Bank AccountYes (Axis Bank)No
In-house ResearchYes, extensiveMinimal/none (execution-focused)
Branch Network75+ physical branchesPrimarily digital-only
GTT / Advanced OrdersGTC/GTDt only, no true GTTOffers GTT-style conditional orders

Axis Direct vs Angel One

Parameter Axis Direct Angel One
Broker TypeFull-service, bank-backedTech-led discount/full-service hybrid
Pricing ModelPercentage-based brokerageLargely flat-fee with select free plans
Research & AdvisoryIn-house desk, banking-linked insightsAlgo-driven advisory (ARQ) and research
3-in-1 Bank AccountYesNo (standalone broking entity)

Axis Direct vs Groww

Parameter Axis Direct Groww
Broker TypeFull-service, bank-backedApp-first discount broker
Target UserInvestors wanting research + banking integrationBeginners wanting a simple, mobile-first experience
Product Depth (Bonds/Insurance/NCDs)ExtensiveComparatively limited
Branch / Phone SupportStrong (75+ branches, call & trade)Primarily digital/app-based support

Axis Direct vs ICICI Direct

Parameter Axis Direct ICICI Direct
Broker TypeFull-service, bank-backed (Axis Bank)Full-service, bank-backed (ICICI Bank)
PositioningClosest peer group — similar 3-in-1 modelClosest peer group — similar 3-in-1 model
ResearchIn-house deskLarge, well-established in-house research team
MTF / Margin FundingYes — "Pay Later"Yes — own MTF programme

Axis Direct vs Motilal Oswal

Parameter Axis Direct Motilal Oswal
Broker TypeFull-service, bank-backedFull-service, independent broking & wealth house
Bank IntegrationNative (Axis Bank)None (standalone, though has its own banking partnerships)
Research ReputationSolid, banking-linkedLong-standing, well-regarded equity research franchise
Wealth/PMS OfferingsLimited at retail levelStrong PMS/AIF/wealth-management suite

Who Should Use Axis Direct?

  • Existing Axis Bank customers who want seamless 3-in-1 integration between banking and investing
  • Long-term investors who value in-house research support and don't mind paying a percentage-based brokerage for it
  • Investors interested in leveraged delivery exposure through MTF ("Pay Later")
  • NRIs comfortable with an assisted, branch/RM-led onboarding process
  • Investors who prefer having phone and branch support alongside digital platforms

Who Should Avoid Axis Direct?

  • High-frequency intraday/scalping traders who are extremely brokerage-sensitive
  • Algo and systematic traders who specifically need GTT, OCO or Bracket Order functionality
  • NRIs wanting a fully online, branch-free account-opening experience
  • Cost-conscious beginners whose only priority is a zero/near-zero brokerage delivery account

Expert Verdict on Axis Direct

Axis Direct is, in essence, a banking-first stockbroker: its strongest selling points — seamless fund movement, dual mobile apps tuned to investor vs trader personas, in-house research, and the implicit trust of an Axis Bank-backed balance sheet — are exactly the things a discount broker cannot easily replicate. For someone who already banks with Axis and wants their investing, SIPs, IPO applications and stock research to live inside the same ecosystem as their salary account, the value proposition is genuinely strong, and the broker's regulatory footprint (a single SEBI registration spanning NSE, BSE, MCX and NCDEX, plus CDSL/NSDL depository registration) gives no reason to doubt its safety. Where Axis Direct loses ground is squarely on cost and on a handful of execution-side gaps that matter to active traders. A 0.50% delivery brokerage and 20-per-order options brokerage look₹ expensive next to the flat or near-zero pricing that discount brokers have normalised over the past decade, and the absence of Bracket Orders, OCO and true GTT-style conditional orders will frustrate traders who have grown used to those tools elsewhere. The MTF ("Pay Later") facility is genuinely useful, but the gap between the advertised promotional rate (as low as 10.99% p.a.) and the broker's own stated standard ledger-debit rate (18% p.a., per its Rights & Obligations document) means investors should read the fine print before assuming the lower number applies to them. Our overall take: Axis Direct earns its place among India's leading full-service brokers on the strength of trust, integration and research — not on price. If you are an investor (rather than a high-frequency trader) who wants banking-grade convenience, dependable research, and a broker that will pick up the phone, Axis Direct is a reasonable, well-regulated choice. If your priority is the lowest possible per-trade cost or advanced algo-style order types, you will likely find better value at a dedicated discount broker, and may want to maintain a second account there alongside — or instead of — Axis Direct.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q1. Is Axis Direct a good broker for beginners? ▾
Axis Direct suits beginners who want hand-holding — research calls, curated baskets and branch/phone support — and are comfortable paying a percentage-based brokerage for that guidance. Beginners focused purely on minimising cost may prefer a discount broker.
Q2. What is the account opening charge for Axis Direct? ▾
There is no account opening charge for an individual Trading and Demat account with Axis Direct. NRI account opening carries a one-time charge of ₹2,500 (subject to periodic promotional discounts).
Q3. What is the brokerage charge for equity delivery at Axis Direct? ▾
Under the Fixed Brokerage Plan, equity delivery is charged at 0.50% per leg, subject to a minimum of ₹25 per executed order. NRI clients are charged 0.75% (PIS) or 0.60% (Non-PIS).
Q4. Does Axis Direct charge brokerage on intraday trading? ▾
Yes. Equity intraday (MIS) trades are charged at 0.05% per leg under the Fixed Brokerage Plan, subject to a ₹25 minimum per order.
Q5. What is the Demat AMC for Axis Direct? ▾
Axis Bank customers get Nil AMC in Year 1 and pay ₹750/year from Year 2 onward. Non-Axis Bank customers pay ₹350 in Year 1 and ₹750/year thereafter.
Q6. Is Axis Direct safe and SEBI registered? ▾
Yes. Axis Direct (Axis Securities Limited) holds SEBI registration INZ000161633 covering NSE, BSE, MSEI, MCX and NCDEX, and is a registered Depository Participant with both CDSL and NSDL (IN-DP-403-2019). It is also backed by Axis Bank, a large, listed, RBI-regulated bank.
Q7. What trading platforms does Axis Direct offer? ▾
Axis Direct offers an Investor App and a Trader App for mobile, the Swift Trade web platform, and the DirectTrade desktop terminal, alongside Call & Trade phone-based trading.
Q8. Does Axis Direct offer Margin Trading Facility (MTF)? ▾
Yes, branded "Pay Later." It allows clients to buy eligible stocks by paying a partial upfront margin (around 20% or more) while Axis Direct funds the balance, offering leverage of up to roughly 4X on 750+ eligible stocks.
Q9. What is the MTF interest rate at Axis Direct? ▾
Promotional marketing cites rates as low as 10.99% per annum, while the broker's official Rights & Obligations document states a standard rate of 18% per annum on ledger debit balances. Confirm your specific applicable rate before using the facility.
Q10. Can NRIs open an account with Axis Direct? ▾
Yes, through a 4-in-1 NRI account (PIS/Non-PIS bank account + Demat + Trading), but the process currently requires branch or Relationship Manager assistance rather than being fully self-serve online.
Q11. Does Axis Direct support GTT (Good Till Triggered) orders? ▾
Not as a distinct, exchange-style conditional-trigger order. Axis Direct instead offers Good-Till-Cancelled (GTC) and Good-Till-Date (GTDt) validity orders, which extend order validity but do not function identically to a price-trigger GTT order.
Q12. Does Axis Direct offer Bracket Orders (BO)? ▾
No. Axis Direct does not currently support Bracket Orders, though it does support Cover Orders (CO).
Q13. What are the DP charges at Axis Direct? ▾
Off-market debit/sell transactions are charged at 0.04% of transaction value or ₹25 per instruction (whichever is higher) on a regular account, with slightly higher BSDA rates of 0.06% or ₹50.
Q14. How can I contact Axis Direct customer support? ▾
Via phone (022-61480808 / 022-40508080), the NRI toll-free line (1800-210-0808), email (helpdesk@axisdirect.in), live chat, or in person at any of its 75+ branches.
Q15. Does Axis Direct charge for Call & Trade? ▾
The first 20 calls per month are free for resident clients (5 for NRI clients); thereafter each call to the "Trade on Phone" service is charged at ₹20.
Q16. What is the pledge/unpledge charge at Axis Direct? ▾
Pledge creation, closure or invocation is charged at 0.04% of transaction value or ₹50 per instruction, whichever is higher, on a regular account (0.06%/₹50 on BSDA).
Q17. Does Axis Direct offer free equity delivery? ▾
No. Unlike some discount brokers that offer zero-brokerage delivery, Axis Direct charges 0.50% per leg on equity delivery under its standard Fixed Brokerage Plan.
Q18. How does Axis Direct compare with Zerodha? ▾
Axis Direct is a full-service, bank-backed broker offering 3-in-1 integration and in-house research at a higher percentage-based brokerage, while Zerodha is a discount broker offering flat/near-zero brokerage with a leaner, execution-focused feature set and broader advanced order-type support.
Q19. Does Axis Direct provide research and stock recommendations? ▾
Yes. Axis Direct runs an in-house research desk offering daily and weekly stock ideas, curated stock baskets, sector themes and fundamental/technical analysis, included with the trading account at no separate research fee.
Q20. How many active clients does Axis Direct have? ▾
NSE active-client data places Axis Direct at approximately 3.98 lakh active trading clients, while the broker separately cites a much larger figure (5 million+) for its total registered customer base across Axis's broader banking ecosystem.

Compare Equivalent Ecosystems

Evaluate structural variance directly with alternative brokerage operations.

Open Full Matrix Engine
Aditya Birla Money
★ 4.2

Aditya Birla Money

3,45,000+

HDFC Securities
★ 3.9

HDFC Securities

23,68,000+

Motilal Oswal
★ 4.0

Motilal Oswal

9+ Lakh

SBICAP Securities
★ 4.2

SBICAP Securities

~8.63

Explore More Investment Opportunities

Discover IPOs, unlisted shares, and broker comparison tools curated for smart investors.